5.7 wrangler - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > JK Wrangler Technical Forum > 5.7 wrangler

Building a Bumper?Ruffstuff Axle Simple Swap Kit!~Artec JK 1 TON SWAP~

Unread 12-14-2006, 07:56 AM   #1
mackssrt

5.7 wrangler

Noob here and search is down, so this may be a topic already covered. Sorry if it is. I'm very interested in the new 4door wrangler, but am amazed that there is not a larger engine offered. Specifically the 5.7. I have looked at AEV for a couple years, but family is too large for a 2door and thus have hung on to my 99 grand cherokee. Is there any hint that the 5.7 will be offered in the future in the wranglers? Thanks!

Craig

mackssrt is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-14-2006, 09:00 AM   #2
UTAH

Quote:
Originally Posted by mackssrt
Is there any hint that the 5.7 will be offered in the future in the wranglers?
Welcome to the forum, Craig.

My take on it (which I've expressed in other threads on the topic) is that if - and I do mean IF - Jeep was considering alternative Wrangler engines (e.g., like the 5.7 or CRD) the odds have considerably lessened. In other words, it's not looking good.

Let me explain why I take that stance:

The new JK is a success for Jeep. It's selling even above Jeep's expectations and above current output ability. That success substantially decreases the odds Jeep will put in alternative engines. Think about it - why should they? If sales are good with a one-size fits all engine - why make costly mods to the production process? There's just no incentive there to change when you've already got a successful product.

Bill
Unread 12-14-2006, 09:09 AM   #3
ajmorell