35s on stock wrangler x - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > JK Wrangler Technical Forum > 35s on stock wrangler x

RIGID LED Light Blowout Sale - All Sizes, All Series, all Truc-Lite LED Headlights! OCONEE OFF-ROAD 706-534-9955Jeep Wrangler Bushwacker Flat Fender Flare Sale at Baselin

Unread 08-28-2012, 11:33 PM   #1
DetonatorBlake
2007 JK Wrangler 

35s on stock wrangler x

Hey guys I'm pretty new to the forum I've been reading a lot of threads and what not but this is my first post. I have a 2007 wrangler x 2dr. My question is if I run 35s will I need to regear? I'm just a college student and I'm trying to figure out what to save up for first in order to run the 35s without hurting my drive train. (I already have a 2.5" lift installed). Any help would be helpful!

Thanks, Blake

Unread 08-29-2012, 12:11 AM   #2
saddis
2003 WJ 

With your 6 speed manual you'll be ok with 35's. Now having said that you'll want to regear as soon as money permits. Gearing axles after larger tires are introduced on a jeep is just about the best thing you can do for your jeep. When it does come time to regear the jeep I'd suggest going at least one size higher than most charts list. I'd rather over gear a little than to pay that much money and not gear enough. I've ran 35 with 3.73's and 37's with 3.73's for short periods of time on two different jeeps and it's not all that bad. I will say my JK pulled 37's on stock gears better than my old TJ did with 35's ungeared. Hope that helps a little.
Unread 08-29-2012, 07:25 AM   #3
DetonatorBlake
2007 JK Wrangler