2015 tuner question - JeepForum.com

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 18 Old 06-11-2016, 06:26 AM Thread Starter
lloydsmale
Registered User
2015 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Michigan
Posts: 454
2015 tuner question

I see the diablo lists that theres will work with a 2015-2016. Superchips says the computer needs to be unlocked and it requires sending in your computer or swaping for one of theres. Going to have to pass if that's the case because the dealership is now going to know you've been tweeking.


2015 willys 2000 4 cyl tj 2015 club cab z71 Silverado, yamaha grizzly, yamaha raptor, Polaris rzr
lloydsmale is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 18 Old 06-11-2016, 07:27 AM
Kruzin
Web Wheeler
 
Kruzin's Avatar
2009 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Lakewood
Posts: 3,312
2015+ FCA products have locked PCMs. No matter what tuner you purchase, you either have to buy a cracked PCM or send yours in to be cracked.


BTW, even on previous model years and stock PCMs, a dealer can tell if you've been using a tuner on it.

'09 Rubicon
Kruzin is offline  
post #3 of 18 Old 06-18-2016, 08:54 AM Thread Starter
lloydsmale
Registered User
2015 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Michigan
Posts: 454
how big of a tire will a dealer adjust your speedometer for?

2015 willys 2000 4 cyl tj 2015 club cab z71 Silverado, yamaha grizzly, yamaha raptor, Polaris rzr
lloydsmale is offline  
post #4 of 18 Old 06-18-2016, 01:20 PM
222Doc
Registered User
2012 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Lake Havasu City
Posts: 5,853
before you go up in tire might want to know your gear ratio. Unless 15+ has changed so much that the easiest way to set simple things like tire size, psi at thetires, gear ratio could done with something like the one AEV has been selling a long time. Just be sure its for your year.

Most the tuners are a bit limited and cost for what if any real gain. Going "cold air" and other things will generally cause more issues in a jeep off road than any claimed gains. If anything in the intake should be done is if you plan to ford water that could cause water ingestion. or stock here wins.

The aev is just a small box that connects to the OBD-2 port. it has a set of dip switches to set the things it does, rather simple. once used it locks to the vin so you can not buy a used one. last i heard unless someone cracked that.

http://www.parker4wheelers.net
www.bullhead4wheelersinc.com
222Doc is offline  
post #5 of 18 Old 06-18-2016, 01:23 PM
Spank
Registered User
2014 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,259
Quote:
Originally Posted by lloydsmale View Post
how big of a tire will a dealer adjust your speedometer for?
What are you trying to change? If you're tweaking the speedometer because you got new tires or wanting to adjust the transmission because of a gear change, a simple programmer will work just fine on a 15. A full-on tuner is a completely different story.

'14 Wrangler Unlimited Rubicon
Spank is offline  
post #6 of 18 Old 06-18-2016, 03:14 PM Thread Starter
lloydsmale
Registered User
2015 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Michigan
Posts: 454
didn't know that. I thought you had to get into the computer to adjust for tire size. I'm not looking for HP just compensating for the change to bigger tires (speedometer, shift points).
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spank View Post
What are you trying to change? If you're tweaking the speedometer because you got new tires or wanting to adjust the transmission because of a gear change, a simple programmer will work just fine on a 15. A full-on tuner is a completely different story.

2015 willys 2000 4 cyl tj 2015 club cab z71 Silverado, yamaha grizzly, yamaha raptor, Polaris rzr
lloydsmale is offline  
post #7 of 18 Old 06-18-2016, 03:34 PM
SLADE
Registered User
2004 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 3,199
Quote:
Originally Posted by lloydsmale View Post
didn't know that. I thought you had to get into the computer to adjust for tire size. I'm not looking for HP just compensating for the change to bigger tires (speedometer, shift points).

You need to look into something like an AEV Procal.

Keep it simple.

2014 Wrangler JKU
2013 Wrangler JK
2004 Wrangler TJ on LEAFS
2001 Dodge Ram 2500
SLADE is offline  
post #8 of 18 Old 06-18-2016, 03:43 PM
Spank
Registered User
2014 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,259
Quote:
Originally Posted by SLADE View Post
You need to look into something like an AEV Procal.

Keep it simple.
I'd go with the Flashcal F5 over the AEV unit. For $9 more, you get a screen, simple to use menus, a decent UI, and you can actually reset to stock. AEV units are notorious for not letting go of a VIN after a reset.

'14 Wrangler Unlimited Rubicon
Spank is offline  
post #9 of 18 Old 06-18-2016, 03:48 PM
Kruzin
Web Wheeler
 
Kruzin's Avatar
2009 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Lakewood
Posts: 3,312
Or the Superchips Flashcal. The AEV is done blindly with dip switches, the flashcal has an actual screen and buttons.
http://www.quadratec.com/products/17609_5131.htm

'09 Rubicon
Kruzin is offline  
post #10 of 18 Old 06-18-2016, 04:09 PM
SLADE
Registered User
2004 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 3,199
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spank View Post
I'd go with the Flashcal F5 over the AEV unit. For $9 more, you get a screen, simple to use menus, a decent UI, and you can actually reset to stock. AEV units are notorious for not letting go of a VIN after a reset.

Im not pushing the AEV Procal over anything else. So what ever works to keep it simple, go for it.

I like the looks of the unit Kruzin posted just for the added feature of being able to read and clear codes



Quote:
Originally Posted by Kruzin View Post
Or the Superchips Flashcal. The AEV is done blindly with dip switches, the flashcal has an actual screen and buttons.
http://www.quadratec.com/products/17609_5131.htm

I have an AEV Procal for both JKs and they have worked without issue. BUT if I were to do it again, for the little bit more $$$ this unit costs I could see myself going this route just for the hand held unit and being able to read and clear codes.

2014 Wrangler JKU
2013 Wrangler JK
2004 Wrangler TJ on LEAFS
2001 Dodge Ram 2500
SLADE is offline  
post #11 of 18 Old 06-19-2016, 03:02 PM
222Doc
Registered User
2012 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Lake Havasu City
Posts: 5,853
Me too not pushing the Aev. what ever works, that is simple, low cost. when i bought that was back in 2012. No need for anything else for me. I have a scanner always on board. today that is like having duck tape for a Cj.

http://www.parker4wheelers.net
www.bullhead4wheelersinc.com
222Doc is offline  
post #12 of 18 Old 06-21-2016, 05:25 AM Thread Starter
lloydsmale
Registered User
2015 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Michigan
Posts: 454
anyone actually use one of these tire size programmer on a 2015? I guess I am thinking that you still are going to have to alter a program in the computer.

2015 willys 2000 4 cyl tj 2015 club cab z71 Silverado, yamaha grizzly, yamaha raptor, Polaris rzr
lloydsmale is offline  
post #13 of 18 Old 06-21-2016, 07:48 AM
SLADE
Registered User
2004 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 3,199
Ive used the AEV on a 2013 for gear ratio and tire size, on a 2014 for tire size.

No experience with a 2015.

2014 Wrangler JKU
2013 Wrangler JK
2004 Wrangler TJ on LEAFS
2001 Dodge Ram 2500
SLADE is offline  
post #14 of 18 Old 06-21-2016, 08:05 AM
duneslider
Registered User
2007 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Riverton
Posts: 1,857
From what I have been told, the way the AEV programmer works is very different than tuners. You aren't really replacing anything, all you are doing it modifying values that are allowed to be altered. They are all things that chrylser's starscan is allowed to change too but they have limited how much starscan can do when changing tire size. So, the AEV, and presumably the superchips version, is not rewriting the tune, just changing some values which are allowed to be changed.

07 JKU Wrangler
10 XK Commander Limited
duneslider is offline  
post #15 of 18 Old 06-21-2016, 12:44 PM
DCMastercraft
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 33
I used a programmer on my 2016 JKUR to adjust tire size, speedo, and shift points. Worked fine.
DCMastercraft is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.



Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome