2013 JK Rubicon burning smell?? - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > JK Wrangler Technical Forum > 2013 JK Rubicon burning smell??

Introducing MONSTALINERô UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed LineNEW!! HMF 50"-52" light bar mounting brackets!! Year End Clearance Sale! Save 20%

Unread 11-05-2012, 12:33 AM   #1
Arsenalman007
2013 JK Wrangler 

2013 JK Rubicon burning smell??

Hey guys, I'm no mechanic or engineer or even remotely good with automobiles, though it's something I'd like to get into, especially with a brand new Rubicon.

But anyways, I've taken it into mud/muddy water several times now (to where there is mud residue underneath the hood [everything looks like it's well sealed]), and when I was driving on the highway, I noticed a burning smell that persisted until I turned on the AC. The smell cleared immediately afterwards, and although I turned the AC off, the smell did not return. I was also driving down a (relatively) steep grade and following a semi - perhaps the smell came from it.

And, to top it all off, I had taken it into 4WD at speeds of 45 mph the day before until I started to smell something ELSE burning (I was told that it was from the heating of the oil or the heating of gears). Yes, this is my first 4WD capable vehicle, and yes, I was told by the dealer to use 4WD in speeds no higher than 45. So please, feel free to flame or laugh. As long as you can explain what was wrong!

So: Why was I smelling something while driving on the highway? I was in Cruise at 77 mph, (obviously) not in 4WD, all the gauges were reading correct, gas mileage did not suffer, driving down a 7% grade slope, and in a brand-new rig.

Thanks for schooling me in the ways of jeeps

Arsenalman007 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message