1997 TJ clutch vs. 2013 JK - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > JK Wrangler Technical Forum > 1997 TJ clutch vs. 2013 JK

Savvy Billet LED Tail LightsWant to be able to SEE? DOT Approved Headlights for under We have FLASHLIGHTS! Great for your Emergency bag!

Unread 09-05-2013, 09:25 AM   #1
mummaG_207
2013 JK Wrangler 

1997 TJ clutch vs. 2013 JK

Disclaimer: I am not technical but learning

The clutch in my new JK (2013 6 speed manual 3.21 ratio) is totally different than my 1997 TJ 4 speed manual (bought used)

Does anyone know why? Is it b/c it's new? or something has technically changed between the models?

thoughts helpful as I feel like I'm learning to drive a clutch all over again. took it off road yesterday and stalled a ton of times as I learn to climb hills again (in 4WD 4 hi and out of it)

Thanks!

mummaG_207 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 09-05-2013, 12:52 PM   #2
RockyClymer
RedRock4Wheeler

2008 JK Wrangler 

What do you mean by different? The JK is a hydraulic clutch, was the TJ cable?
"It takes a special kind of stupid to believe criminals will follow gun laws."
I do not consider myself a smartass. I point out the obvious, search for the truth, and speak fluent sarcasm. I am, by experience, an accomplished curmudgeon.
RockyClymer is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 09-05-2013, 12:54 PM   #3
mummaG_207
2013 JK Wrangler 

Quote:
Originally Posted by RockyClymer
What do you mean by different? The JK is a hydraulic clutch, was the TJ cable?
That might be my answer. I seem to struggle with feathering the clutch and it seems more sensitive than the tj.
Unread 09-05-2013, 12:57 PM   #4
mummaG_207
2013 JK Wrangler 

I'll start to educate myself on hydraulic vs cable.