JeepForum.com

JeepForum.com (http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/)
-   JK Wrangler Technical Forum (http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f96/)
-   -   1 person soft top removal? (http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f96/1-person-soft-top-removal-1416792/)

Gomofast 09-13-2012 12:44 PM

1 person soft top removal?

Ok, I'm new to JKs so forgive me if I'm being stupid. On my TJ I could put the top up or down by myself, easily. I'm having a really hard time trying to do it by myself on my 2008 unlimited. Am I doing something wrong or is it very hard to do? Any tips would be appreciated.

rlj 09-13-2012 12:46 PM

It just takes practice. I do it all the time when the soft top is on. May need to move side to side a few times or get inside the jeep to lower or raise at certain points......

Gomofast 09-13-2012 12:49 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by rlj (Post 14162211)
It just takes practice. I do it all the time when the soft top is on. May need to move side to side a few times or get inside the jeep to lower or raise at certain points......

Can you describe your procedure? I can't even get the sunrider portion back by myself. I think after that I would be okay.

J33PNSL33P 09-13-2012 12:50 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Gomofast
Ok, I'm new to JKs so forgive me if I'm being stupid. On my TJ I could put the top up or down by myself, easily. I'm having a really hard time trying to do it by myself on my 2008 unlimited. Am I doing something wrong or is it very hard to do? Any tips would be appreciated.

I have no problems taking mine down and puting it up myself. I follow the directions in the owners manual. If you do it in the right order it shouldn't be too hard. Once you do it a couple times you get a system

PhatJK 09-13-2012 12:55 PM

I followed the video posted by Jeep and had no problems the first time using the softtop.

Gomofast 09-13-2012 12:58 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by PhatJK (Post 14162258)