07' Rubicon vs 10' sport - Page 2 - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > JK Wrangler Technical Forum > 07' Rubicon vs 10' sport

FS: Wranger BRIGHT License Plate LED! Just $3! Great valueSPARTAN LOCKERS are on sale BIG TIME at ROCKRIDGE 4WD!Jeep Grand Cherokee Mirror - Side View

Unread 07-13-2013, 10:39 PM   #16
Rtone1583
2009 JK Wrangler 

Quote:
Originally Posted by Habber View Post
Sorry guys, I'm a bit of a newbie. Please explain when I would need locking diff. Also if someone can explain difference between sport and Rubi I'd really appreciate it.

Jeep TJ 2001 4.0 5MT
For what sounds like you intend to do you probably won't need the locking diff. The thing is though, the one time that you need them they will have been worth it especially considering the price you can get the Rubicon for.

Speaking of the Rubicon here:

In normal operation the differentials are open. This means that the tire with the best traction is the one providing the majority of forward momentum. Even when running in 4WD the axles are still open and typically only two wheels (one front/one rear) are truly providing forward momentum. With locking diff (front and rear) the axle shafts are locked together, in effect making each axle a solid drive unit and all 4 tires provide forward momentum. Or you can lock just the rear axle while in 4WD and gain that extra little bit push if needed (a situation such as having trouble getting through some mud).

The main difference between the Sport and the Rubicon are the axles, the transfer case and the sway bar disconnects.