Personal July 2nd Honor to a Vet - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > General > Jeep Stories > Personal July 2nd Honor to a Vet

FS: 2007-2013 Jeep Wrangler "HALO" Angel Eye KitFS: Wranger BRIGHT License Plate LED! Just $3! Great valueSavvy Aluminum Gas Tank Skid

Unread 07-03-2006, 02:35 AM   #1
Bgeddes
Ridin' with the King

Personal July 2nd Honor to a Vet

I am a vet, and the gentleman that rents the apartment in part of my home is a WWII Purple Heart recepient. He is truely from the greatest generation. My father-in-law restored an MB, a '44 military jeep, in the early '80s. He keeps it in my garage. My responsibilties are to run and drive the MB from time to time. I try for every two weeks. We are working on antique plates, so I am limited to the couple acres we own for now.

Today, as I opened the garage to run the old jeep, my renter was pulling in the driveway. As any American would, I opened the garage door for him. I was in the process of openeing the other garage door so the '44 could get some exercise. Almost on a whim, I asked him if he would like a ride, without hestitation, he said yes. So off we went. We rode around the yard for almost 30 minutes, me trying to not hit the trees and shrubs in the yard and him telling tales of his love for the ole workhorse.

I'm not sure if he knows how much of an Honor it was for me, but I think he appreciated the ride in the real jeep.

Unread 07-03-2006, 11:33 AM   #2
Matt Gertsch
www.lp.org

1999 XJ Cherokee 

Nice story. Too bad you guys couldn't have taken it down to the bar for a beer.
Unread 07-03-2006, 02:56 PM   #3
leonw
2002 WJ