Yet another thread about opda - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > TJ Wrangler Technical Forum > Yet another thread about opda

Savvy Aluminum Gas Tank SkidIntroducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed LineNEW JK WRANGLER GRAB BARS NOW at ROCKRIDGE4WD

Unread 02-06-2015, 02:29 PM   #1
Ryan0186
2005 TJ Wrangler 

Yet another thread about opda

This is my first time posting in the forum though I have been lurking here for quite a few years. I have recently purchased my fourth and last Jeep Wrangler TJ ( keeping this one forever). I found a good deal on an 05 TJ X with 49K. All of the other TJ's that I have owned have been 97's. All have been great. I ran across a thread on here while seraching for recall info on my 05 and saw the OPDA issues. My 05 only has 49K miles and I have not had a chance yet to pull the OPDA and take a look at the gear. I am leaving it parked till I can insepct it. Currently not showing any issues, thrown codes, or noises but I am still a little worried that it could break at any time. From what I have read the E05 TSB covers Jeep TJ 2005 built between OCT 04-FEB 05....Well wouldn't ya know it...my Jeep was built smack in the middle of the date in 12/04. I took a look at the label on my OPDA and saw that it was a REV E. I read some stuff online about the REV B and REV E OPDA's but could not find out what the difference between the B and E are. Was hoping someone could shed some light on this. Also was wondering if anyone has had any issues with the Crown replacment OPDA? Gear wearm noises, leaks? I am thinking if I find any kind of wear on my OPDA I am goign to order the Crown version and just check it every 7500-10K for abnormal wear.

Ryan0186 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message