Whistling/Whirring Noise - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > TJ Wrangler Technical Forum > Whistling/Whirring Noise

Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed LineRubicon Express Suspensions from CCOR 706-207-4140Smittybilt Hard Tops @ Oconee Off-Road! 706-534-9955

Unread 01-18-2013, 11:12 AM   #1
VanderTJ
2007 XK Commander 

Whistling/Whirring Noise

Hey guys, I've been coming to this site for the last 4+ years getting great advice on all things Jeep. Now I've come to something that I can't really find in the forums, and I'm just looking for ideas on what could be up with my Wrangler.

A couple of weeks ago while on the freeway driving to Atlanta from Auburn I noticed a high pitched whistling/whirring coming from my engine compartment. It only occurred when I have been driving for a while (15 minutes +), and only when my foot was off the gas. When accelerating or giving it gas, the whistle/whir went away.

At first I suspected the vacuum hoses or throttle body spacer (installed before I bought the Jeep). I have since removed the throttle boy spacer and checked the vacuum hoses (along with replacing the power steering pump, water pump, thermostat, and thermostat housing which was a whole adventure in and of istelf), and the whistle/whir is still present under the same conditions as before.

Anyone have any ideas? Thanks in advance.

VanderTJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-18-2013, 02:09 PM   #2
medtech
2005 LJ Wrangler 

mine does the same thing. I think it's coming from the hose connecting the alternator to the intake manifold but i'm not sure. I took a picture of where I hear the sound coming from.
pic1.jpg  
medtech is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-18-2013, 07:00 PM   #3
mike78
2002 TJ Wrangler