Jeep Enthusiast Forums banner

What's easier, remove y-pipe from exhaust manifold or separate y-pipe from cat?

2K views 5 replies 4 participants last post by  TheBoogieman 
#1 ·
Please excuse me if I use the wrong terminology, I'm new to this. I've been researching and can't find what I need, and when I do find something the third party pics are no longer available for viewing.

I'm want to add an AutoRust ART-131 Safe T Cap to repair my 2000 TJ's rusted frame.

The Safe T Cap instructions suggest disconnecting the exhaust system from the catalytic converter back. It looks like a tough job to separate the exhaust at that point, so I'm curious would it be easier to remove the entire exhaust by dropping it at the exhaust (not remove, but just allow me to drop it low enough to weld above it)?

For either option, could you guys offer some beginner advise for the process?

I asked in another thread how to remove the cat at the point in the photo below. Member mrblaine suggested "Cut the nut side almost flush, grind flush, punch out the bolt and replace with all new"

There is very little room, so how do I do this? Is this done with a grinder or dremel, or what do you suggest? And once out, do I replace with any nuts and bolts that fit the hole, or replace with OEM stock parts?

Sensitive content, not recommended for those under 18
Show Content

If I take it off at this point I'll still have about six inches of exhaust blocking the area I need to access. So, is there any play in y-pipe once it's separated at the above point?

Also, I'm planning to get a plasma cutter for this project. The plasma has gouging capability and with some practice I may be able to cut the nuts off with that.

Below is my view of the y-pipe to manifold. Any advise on this? I can shoot some PB up there, but I DEFINITELY don't want to damage anything. What's the procedure for this?

Thanks - Rick

See less See more
#2 ·