want to change fog light panel switch with 4 wires to rocker switch with 3 terminals - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > TJ Wrangler Technical Forum > want to change fog light panel switch with 4 wires to rocker switch with 3 terminals

Dana 30/ Dana 44 Chromoly shaft Kits- ECGSFS: 2007-2013 Jeep Wrangler "HALO" Angel Eye KitFlowmaster's Force II Axle-back exhaust system for the 201

Unread 11-28-2009, 12:11 PM   #1
lomondpeak
2000 TJ Wrangler 

want to change fog light panel switch with 4 wires to rocker switch with 3 terminals

I am a jeep newbie... but trying to learn. I want to change the OEM fog light panel switch to a rocker switch. the OEM switch has four wires (black, green, brown, orange) feeding into it, the new rocker switch has three terminals... which wire goes where???

thanks in advance

lomondpeak is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-28-2009, 12:19 PM   #2
Brew461

Is the switch you are changing to back lit? That orange wire is probably for the switch illumination. The other three are the 12v source, 12v feed and ground for the switch illumination. Welcome to the forum.
Unread 11-28-2009, 04:05 PM   #3
BlueFlame
2003 TJ Wrangler 

Why do you want to take out a nice switch that looks good and put in some other thing?
BlueFlame is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-28-2009, 09:06 PM   #4
lomondpeak
2000 TJ Wrangler 

Quote:
Originally Posted by brew461 View Post
Is the switch you are changing to back lit? That orange wire is probably for the switch illumination. The other three are the 12v source, 12v feed and ground for the switch illumination. Welcome to the forum.
thanks for the welcome. the new switch has an LED that illuminates when activated... is that what you mean? If so, where do I put the orange wire?