UPDATE: hi-amp alternator swap - Page 5 - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > TJ Wrangler Technical Forum > UPDATE: hi-amp alternator swap

Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed LineRuffstuff Axle Simple Swap Kit!ROCK BOTTOM prices on LIFT KITS at Rockridge4wd!! WANT TO

Unread 07-10-2012, 05:34 PM   #61
Gary2
2005 TJ Wrangler 

whout the correct wire you wont get the benefits of the alternator swap . its all part of it besides the bad things already mentioned .

Gary2 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 07-10-2012, 06:12 PM   #62
02ws666
2003 TJ Wrangler 

so what size wire is needed? im not an electronics expert sorry for newb questions...
Unread 07-10-2012, 06:20 PM   #63
Gary2
2005 TJ Wrangler 

I am not either which is why I did a little research when did it years ago . these and many more answers were found on this forum by using the search tool in order to not add another thread for someone to wade through when searching for an answer . I used 6 gauge if I remember correctly some say 4
Gary2 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 07-31-2012, 12:36 AM   #64
dragginwagon406
1998 TJ Wrangler 

I did this swap on my '98 "4.0"L last week while traveling on vacation...

The swap is straight forward with a couple of notes:
1. You will want the insulator from your current alternator as it is clocked differently than the 136A alternator. Check the pin location in the photos for the difference, the pin hole in the case is in the same location on both.
2. The pulley has an extra groove, it will work as is but why not change it out?

Both alternators will fit out the bottom with very little hassle, ask me how I know