Transmission Drain Plug - NONE!! - JeepForum.com

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 30 Old 07-18-2011, 08:40 AM Thread Starter
TIMETOPLAY
Registered User
1997 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Chandler
Posts: 18
Transmission Drain Plug - NONE!!

WTF, no drain plug. Maybe I'm missing something, is it located somewhere else?

1997 Jeep Wrangler Sport (4cyl, 2.5) Automatic

TIMETOPLAY is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 30 Old 07-18-2011, 08:42 AM
Necko2529
Registered User
2003 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Brookfield
Posts: 2,569
If there's a hole In your transmission then you're missing a drain plug.

Rokmen TT, Rokmen control arms, Novak NV241 cable shifter, JKS 1.25" BL + 1" MML.

Anybody can take advice if it doesn't interfere with their plan.

RIP "Prescott 19" Prescott Fire Department
Necko2529 is offline  
post #3 of 30 Old 07-18-2011, 08:44 AM
JBTJ
Registered User
2001 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Dallas
Posts: 11,589
Auto's don't have drain plugs, unless you make one or buy a pan that has one built in. You need to drop the pan to get the fluid out.
JBTJ is offline  
post #4 of 30 Old 07-18-2011, 08:49 AM
Necko2529
Registered User
2003 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Brookfield
Posts: 2,569
Dang it. Fill your profile so I don't make my self look like a fool.

Rokmen TT, Rokmen control arms, Novak NV241 cable shifter, JKS 1.25" BL + 1" MML.

Anybody can take advice if it doesn't interfere with their plan.

RIP "Prescott 19" Prescott Fire Department
Necko2529 is offline  
post #5 of 30 Old 07-18-2011, 08:50 AM Thread Starter
TIMETOPLAY
Registered User
1997 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Chandler
Posts: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by JBTJ View Post
Auto's don't have drain plugs, unless you make one or buy a pan that has one built in. You need to drop the pan to get the fluid out.
Damn, if that's not some poor engineering I don't know what is.
TIMETOPLAY is offline  
post #6 of 30 Old 07-18-2011, 09:30 AM
j_niko
Registered User
2009 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Cleveland
Posts: 1,170
if I remember right, that's pretty common.

2000 - Sahara
1997 - Sahara
j_niko is offline  
post #7 of 30 Old 07-18-2011, 09:33 AM
Imped
Registered User
2004 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 20,321
Very common. Nothing to do with poor engineering.

OlllllllO
Float Test Build
IndyORV
Imped is offline  
post #8 of 30 Old 07-18-2011, 09:42 AM
IslandTJ
Registered User
1998 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: where I wheel: N 45║ 36.663' W 123║ 20.935'
Posts: 3,471
The Mopar deep pan has a plug .

http://www.4x4groupbuy.com/store/dee...on-p-3369.html

1998 Sahara TJ

Now Jeeping in Oregon
IslandTJ is offline  
post #9 of 30 Old 07-18-2011, 09:47 AM
JBTJ
Registered User
2001 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Dallas
Posts: 11,589
Quote:
Originally Posted by IslandTJ View Post
The Mopar deep pan has a plug .
For the 30RH?
JBTJ is offline  
post #10 of 30 Old 07-18-2011, 09:56 AM
IslandTJ
Registered User
1998 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: where I wheel: N 45║ 36.663' W 123║ 20.935'
Posts: 3,471
Quote:
Originally Posted by JBTJ View Post
For the 30RH?
Sorry, for the 32RH or TF999.

1998 Sahara TJ

Now Jeeping in Oregon
IslandTJ is offline  
post #11 of 30 Old 07-18-2011, 10:08 AM
JBTJ
Registered User
2001 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Dallas
Posts: 11,589
Quote:
Originally Posted by IslandTJ View Post
Sorry, for the 32RH or TF999.
Yep, the OP has a 30RH. Be nice if they did though.
JBTJ is offline  
post #12 of 30 Old 07-18-2011, 10:10 AM Thread Starter
TIMETOPLAY
Registered User
1997 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Chandler
Posts: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Imped View Post
Very common. Nothing to do with poor engineering.
IMO it does.
TIMETOPLAY is offline  
post #13 of 30 Old 07-18-2011, 10:51 AM
LJameson
Registered User
1990 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Central Oregon!
Posts: 3,830
Quote:
Originally Posted by TIMETOPLAY View Post
IMO it does.
Well you have a ignorant opinion.

Probably 90% of autos from all manufacturers don't have drain plugs. Some of them are sealed units and don't provide any means of draining or filling the trans with fluid unless you have a special tool.

1990 YJ-The wheeler
2015 JK- The DD
LJameson is offline  
post #14 of 30 Old 07-18-2011, 11:49 AM
Kadmost
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by TIMETOPLAY View Post
Damn, if that's not some poor engineering I don't know what is.
It's done for two reasons, the main one is so you will have to drop the pan, which means you will need a new gasket, gaskets come with the filter, and that's what they want you to do...change the filter. And while you are in there you will likely wipe off the magnet

The cars with drain plugs typically have a wire mesh filter rather than a paper or fiber one.

The second reason is because shade tree mechanics and occasionally dealers service would accidentally drain the transmission and then add more engine oil to the crankcase.

My father did this to his Volvo a couple decades back, I believe it was the last time he ever worked on a car
Kadmost is offline  
post #15 of 30 Old 07-18-2011, 12:15 PM
mrblaine
Wizard of Brakes
 
mrblaine's Avatar
1999 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Quail Valley
Posts: 30,072
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kadmost View Post
It's done for two reasons, the main one is so you will have to drop the pan, which means you will need a new gasket, gaskets come with the filter, and that's what they want you to do...change the filter. And while you are in there you will likely wipe off the magnet

The cars with drain plugs typically have a wire mesh filter rather than a paper or fiber one.

The second reason is because shade tree mechanics and occasionally dealers service would accidentally drain the transmission and then add more engine oil to the crankcase.

My father did this to his Volvo a couple decades back, I believe it was the last time he ever worked on a car
There are some folks on here who shall remain nameless that have drained the wrong one and overfilled the other on other vehicles.

Let's just say their SO was not a happy camper when the dealership pointed out the error after the car was towed in for repair.

I am Savvy
blackmagicbrakes.com
Knowledge does not equal understanding.
mrblaine is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.



Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Jeep Forums Replies Last Post
Manual transmission drain plug..? fishmanwill YJ Wrangler Technical Forum 8 01-14-2013 10:15 AM
Transmission pan sensor/drain plug? Dronac JK Wrangler Technical Forum 9 11-03-2010 05:52 PM
Where is the drain plug and fill plug on manual transmission Mr_E YJ Wrangler Technical Forum 2 07-11-2009 03:26 AM
transmission drain plug?? 99dime YJ Wrangler Technical Forum 5 12-02-2006 11:42 AM
87 wrangler transmission drain plug ? DaSham58 YJ Wrangler Technical Forum 5 03-11-2006 07:19 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome