JeepForum.com

JeepForum.com (http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/)
-   TJ Wrangler Technical Forum (http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f9/)
-   -   Transforming my Soccer-Mom-TJ: lift kit, tires & wheel spacers (http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f9/transforming-my-soccer-mom-tj-lift-kit-tires-wheel-spacers-1438900/)

Peyts 11-16-2012 02:33 PM

Transforming my Soccer-Mom-TJ: lift kit, tires & wheel spacers

2 Attachment(s)
I know there are a bunch of other threads on lift kit installations... however I figure another couldn’t hurt, especially considering that I am a newbie and fairly green when it comes to mechanics. I mean, I can change oil... I’ve replaced an alternator in a crappy car... but beyond simple stuff like that, I’ve got A WHOLE LOT to learn. Further, I reckon there are others out there like me – mechanically-challenged Jeep newbies – so hopefully something in this thread can help.

Some precursor info first: I bought my first Jeep in August 2012... a 2005 Wrangler TJ Sport, 4-cyl, 6-speed manual transmission, fully stock with 225/75-R15 tires. All I wanted was a fun vehicle... to take the top off, the doors out and cruise around on the highway with my wife & kids. I had no desire to do put any sort of lift or big tires on it, etc. Just cruise the highway with the family in the world’s coolest convertible.

That changed when I foolishly met up with some members of the Ottawa Jeep Club. :D

To have the best of both worlds – a Jeep than can still be comfortable and fun on the highway, as well as tackle some of the aggressive off-road trails with the local club – I decided on a 2” lift and 31” tires.

Next came the tough part: deciding WHICH lift kit I was gonna buy. I spent a bunch of time reading the plethora of lift kit threads on this and other forums. I spoke with retailers, vendors, a mechanic friend, club members and other Jeep owners.