TJ Rough Idle when first started - JeepForum.com

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 02-22-2008, 06:49 PM Thread Starter
jmurdock

TJ Rough Idle when first started

I have a 2000 TJ with the 4.0 L six cylinder. When I first start it, it idles rough and I have to give it gas to smooth it out. Once I drive it for a minute, it idles fine. I recently had a check engine light. When Autozone hooked the code reader to it, it gave a message of a misfire in a couple of the cylinders. I replaced all the spark plugs, and the check engine light went off, but the rough idleing continued. Any help, please.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 Old 02-22-2008, 07:09 PM
djt283

2001 TJ Wrangler 

I'm not an expert on this, but it was suggested to me to clean the IAC and it worked very well. Very simple to do also.

Check out this thread and read post #2 by Jerry:

http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f9/2005-rubicon-low-idle-522760/

Give this a try first.
post #3 of 5 Old 02-22-2008, 08:08 PM
20004x4TJ
2000 TJ Wrangler 

I have been having the same problem with the same year TJ. Hate to say it but I'm glad that I'm not the only one and will be trying out Jerry's solution.

PDC

post #4 of 5 Old 02-22-2008, 08:31 PM
djt283

2001 TJ Wrangler 

I'm sure there are rough idling situations it won't cure, but it worked 100% for me. It seems at least once a week someone asks how to solve a rough idle. Jerry (or someone who read an earlier post of his) chimes in and it usually works.

Besides, it takes less than 20 minutes if you take your time (although the bottom 2 screws are a little tough to reach) so even if you don't totally fix your problem, it's a good thing to do.

If you want any more detail about how to do it, do an advanced search (if you can) for iac and jerry as the username. He has posted that response at least a hundred times and some of the threads have pictures in them, I just can't remember which ones.
post #5 of 5 Old 02-22-2008, 10:56 PM
97 SRH Jeep