TJ hardtop vent question - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > TJ Wrangler Technical Forum > TJ hardtop vent question

Jeep Grand Cherokee Headlight AssembliesJeep Wrangler Wheel Bearing & Hub - FrontPremium LED Lighting by VISION X, Proudly sold at ROCKRIDG

Unread 10-11-2010, 03:23 PM   #1
zmiller
2002 TJ Wrangler 

TJ hardtop vent question

Hello everyone. I'm new to Wranglers and am in need of info. I have an 02 Wrangler X and just bought a hardtop off an 04 Sahara. I installed it Saturday and while going down the road with the window down the top directly above the center console flexes alot. Neither my tailgate nor my top have vents. Is the top flex normal? I am concerned with the top flexing too much and cracking. With the windows up the top doesn't flex. What should be done to avoid damage? Thanks for all the help

zmiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-11-2010, 03:35 PM   #2
photontraveler
Old Dude

1997 TJ Wrangler 

Quote:
Originally Posted by zmiller View Post
Hello everyone. I'm new to Wranglers and am in need of info. I have an 02 Wrangler X and just bought a hardtop off an 04 Sahara. I installed it Saturday and while going down the road with the window down the top directly above the center console flexes alot. Neither my tailgate nor my top have vents. Is the top flex normal? I am concerned with the top flexing too much and cracking. With the windows up the top doesn't flex. What should be done to avoid damage? Thanks for all the help
My hardtop has done that for 5 years and no problems yet.............Hope this helps..................
Unread 10-11-2010, 03:46 PM   #3
Gary2
2005 TJ Wrangler 

I have a 99 with a vented top and no noise of any kind . maybe keep an eye out for a newer tailgate if it gets to bothering ya