TJ frame rust HELP!! - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > TJ Wrangler Technical Forum > TJ frame rust HELP!!

SPARTAN LOCKERS are on sale BIG TIME at ROCKRIDGE 4WD!Engo winches available at www.rockridge4wd.com! Free shippHuge Soft top Sale

Unread 07-15-2014, 09:12 PM   #1
SadlyStock
1998 TJ Wrangler 

TJ frame rust HELP!!

So... I bought a 1998 tj sport.. im new to jeeps.. and didn't realize how rusty the frame was and that jeeps had this big of frame issues. now its my problem. By the rear control arm brackets there are large holes (started as slight hole till I knocked the loose rust off) and the rear upper arm brackets seem like they are on there way break off in the near future. I did some research and dropped the skid pan to check the rust on the frame rails there and those seem solid.... sooo where do I go from here...

Are there after market tj frames? I found a company that makes just the back half for crawlers but no whole frames.

Will a yj frame work?

Do I Fab a frame from the back of the skid pan to the rear?

Any help would be greatly appreciated. ill try and get pictures up in the next couple days but I cant promise.

SadlyStock is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-15-2014, 09:37 PM   #2
rdock31
Average Jeeper

1999 TJ Wrangler 

If you have the ability to weld well, do it yourself. If not look for a replacement. To do a YJ frame will take quite a bit of work.

BDS - Savvy - Brown Dog - AtoZ - Metalcloak - Cooper - RC
rdock31 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-15-2014, 09:57 PM   #3
The_'ster
1998 TJ Wrangler 

Your options are:

1) Weld in Safe-T-Cap patch rails from Auto Rust Technicians. Expect the patch rails to cost $500-$1000 and a welding shop labor.