JeepForum.com

JeepForum.com (http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/)
-   TJ Wrangler Technical Forum (http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f9/)
-   -   Time for another Super 35 thread - some questions (http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f9/time-another-super-35-thread-some-questions-247862/)

JPWheeler 03-10-2006 10:28 AM

Time for another Super 35 thread - some questions

After reading through dozens of threads on the subject, I still have some questions. I have the stock D35 and for a while I was thinking of swapping in a D44, but I have since learned that a Super 35 kit would be sufficient (not to mention a lot easier on the wallet). Having said that, here are my questions:

- I'm thinking of going with this kit from redrock4x4 with the ARB for the carrier: http://www.redrock4x4.com/shop/products/786.html Does anyone here have this particular kit and want to comment on it?

- Is the Super 35 something I can install myself, or is it best left up to the professionals? I'm by no means an expert mechanic, but I try to do all the work on my TJ when possible. I have never touched anything in the drivetrain however. If possible, I'd like to do it myself to save on labor costs, but if I'm just asking for trouble then I'll definately have a shop do it.

- Same question as above for the ARB. Seems like some lockers are easier to install than others, but I don't hear much about how easy or hard the ARB's are to install.

Thanks

frankiefire702 03-10-2006 10:34 AM

If you don't know much about working on your jeep leave it to the professionals. I'm runnning the alloy usa kit with a detroit and am very happy with it.

bills79jeep 03-10-2006 10:42 AM

I think I have read from snooping around here that lockers and the like usually are only under warranty if a professional installs them. I could be wrong though, it has happened once before...

geauxturbo 03-10-2006 10:58 AM

If these words make sense to you, do it yourself

Dial Indicator
Backlash
Runout
pinion depth
Micro Caliper
Depth Gauge