Temp/Compass Mirror Hiccup? - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > TJ Wrangler Technical Forum > Temp/Compass Mirror Hiccup?

Stainless Steel Door Hinge PinsPoly Door Hinge BushingsDisc Brake Kits from ECGS

Unread 11-09-2005, 05:46 PM   #1
ironpony

Temp/Compass Mirror Hiccup?

Ok, I'm a noob, and have owned my 2005 Wrangler Sport for about a week. It's a Flame Red dual top, Dana 44 w/ a Six Speed. This rig has cruise, and the "convienence" Group, which includes the snazzy auto dimming mirror. Here's the question.

Why does the Temp Compass function work perfectly at night, and not at all during the day? During the day it is black, no data. The LED map lights on the mirror also only work at night. Now it seems stupid to me that Jeep thinks I only need to know which direction I'm headed at midnight, and it's of no importance at noon. I've monkeyed with the dash light dimmer, headlights off/on, repeatedly and randomly punched it's buttons. God forbid I even read the damn owners manual. Nothing but how to "recalibrate" the compass. It seems the photo cell controlling the auto dim feature cuts all power to the mirror during the day.

So is this how they all are? Or am I proving to be the Noob I am?

Thanks for the help guys.

ironpony is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-09-2005, 05:56 PM   #2
5150Jeep

I would take it to a dealer
5150Jeep is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-09-2005, 05:59 PM   #3
Rocky529
Jeep

2004 TJ Wrangler 

Here is a write-up from another user on this board who installed the compass mirror on his own. Maybe something in that link can help you. Otherwise, take it back to the dealer... that's what the warranty is for.

Silver Metallic finish with black dual tops - Dana 44 Rear