Spring spacers falling apart. Newbie here. - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > TJ Wrangler Technical Forum > Spring spacers falling apart. Newbie here.

WJ Shackle Tabs: Tow-Hook Replacements2014 Spartan Locker Special - While Supplies Last! Dana 3FS: 2007-2013 Jeep Wrangler "HALO" Angel Eye Kit

Unread 10-06-2008, 07:16 AM   #1
rbwamsley
2005 TJ Wrangler 

Spring spacers falling apart. Newbie here.

This weekend I was rotating the tires on my fiance's 04 Jeep Wrangler X. From what I saw, the mods on her Jeep are:
- 1" body lift
- 1" spring spacers
- 33x12.50R15 on Black Steelies

She bought the Jeep with all the mods. I am almost positive those are the only mods (Even the shocks looked stock). As I was rotating the tires I took a look at the spring spacers and they are literally falling apart; big pieces of the spacer were in the coil (the pieces were big enough that it was hard to get them out between the spaces in the coil) this was on a couple of the coils too. I was looking at buying some other spacers, but I don't think that is the right route. What would be the best way to maintain the current ride height or maybe go a little taller and do it correctly.

Also, what is an SYE???

Thanks in advance,
Blake

rbwamsley is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 10-06-2008, 07:19 AM   #2
rbwamsley
2005 TJ Wrangler 

Ok, just answered my own question about the SYE. Its a Slip Yoke Eliminator.
Unread 10-06-2008, 07:20 AM   #3
thejafe
2004 TJ Wrangler 

No harm at all in replacing the coil spacers with new ones.
thejafe is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 10-06-2008, 07:22 AM   #4
TimBrown
2004 TJ Wrangler