speedo and odometer not working - JeepForum.com
Search  
Sign Up   Today's Posts
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > TJ Wrangler Technical Forum > speedo and odometer not working

ROCKRIDGE4WD Introduces a NEW Jeep Wrangler JK *led* tail Nitro Gear Packages Now Available at Rockridge 4wdMarch Madness LOCKER SALE + FREE SHIPPING + $30-$50 REBATE

Reply
Unread 03-14-2015, 08:48 PM   #1
JAMES69Z28
Registered User
2003 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 15
speedo and odometer not working

any ideas? I have read many many threads about this, but I had a JB Conversions super short SYE and after reading about all the speed pickup failures I called them to ask about some troubleshooting hints and they just offered to send me a new pickup GREAT CUSTOMER SERVICE (just wanted everyone to know). the problem is even after installing it I still have no speedo or odo.? I did the cluster check and the speedo responds, the pickup is new, I need a wiring diagram to see what else is in the circuit. I checked all the under dash fuses and also under the hood fuses all are good, I haven't seen any damaged wires, but this is a good possibility because the jeep was sitting for 2 months and I just had to drop the tank and repair all 4 wires to the fuel pump and sending unit due to squirrels. The harness is hard to follow and I really don't think they chewed this up too, I think there is some other reason for the failure? Ay Ideas? or anyone have a wiring diagram? Thanks

JAMES69Z28 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 03-14-2015, 09:42 PM   #2
slewofaces1
Registered User
1997 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Fort Drum, NY
Posts: 27
Had the exact same problem. Has to do with the plugs to the dash losing connectivity. Next time they go out, press your instrument cluster upwards and see if they activate. They should. That will tell you if it has to do with the plugs. If so, buy some contact grease and clean the plug terminals up. It is pretty easy to remove and clean the instrument cluster.
slewofaces1 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.
Note: All free e-mails have been banned due to mis-use. (Yahoo, Gmail, Hotmail, etc.)
Don't have a non-free e-mail address? Click here for a solution: Manual Account Creation
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.


Thread Tools






Jeep, Wrangler, Cherokee, Grand Cherokee, and other models are copyrighted and trademarked to Jeep/Chrysler Corporation. JeepForum.com is not in any way associated with Jeep or the Chrysler Corp.