Running wires through firewall - JeepForum.com
Search  
Sign Up   Today's Posts
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > TJ Wrangler Technical Forum > Running wires through firewall

Savvy Billet LED Tail LightsLight up the holidays with LED lights from JeepHutIntroducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed Line

Reply
Unread 01-28-2007, 09:18 AM   #1
MZH29
Registered User
2007 WK 
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Germantown, MD
Posts: 291
Running wires through firewall

I will be hooking up some daylighters next weekend and I was wondering, what is the best way to run the wires from the engine bay to inside the jeep? Is there a pre-existing hole? Or is it just easier to drill a hole? Thanks!

__________________
2007 Grand Cherokee Laredo 4.7/ Mopar Bodykit/ Flowmaster 40 delta
MZH29 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 01-28-2007, 09:20 AM   #2
lj_wil
ekorb mi
 
lj_wil's Avatar
2006 LJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Heyweird
Posts: 1,206
There is an existing hole right above the gas pedal. I ran some power through there, that grommet is pretty tight so you may have to notch it so the wires don't pinch.
__________________
W6FU

Some pics
lj_wil is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 01-28-2007, 09:22 AM   #3
Rocky529
Jeep
 
Rocky529's Avatar
2004 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Park City, Utah
Posts: 13,187
You can make your own too if you want, just make sure you paint it and put a rubber grommet.
__________________
2004 Jeep Wrangler Sport - 5 speed

Silver Metallic finish with black dual tops - Dana 44 Rear
2.25" Suspension Lift with Old Man Emu Shocks
Performance Accessories 1" Body Lift
Daystar 1" Motor Mount Lift
Spidertrax 1.25" Wheel Spacers - 32"x11.5" MT/R Tires
Rocky529 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 01-28-2007, 09:35 AM   #4
tmwoodall
Registered User
1999 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 547
I pulled that grommet out and cut an x in it and I have lightiing, and amp power coming through that so running just your daylighters through should be no big deal.
tmwoodall is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 01-28-2007, 11:10 AM   #5
MZH29
Registered User
2007 WK 
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Germantown, MD
Posts: 291
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmwoodall
I pulled that grommet out and cut an x in it and I have lightiing, and amp power coming through that so running just your daylighters through should be no big deal.

Are you talking about the hole by the gas pedal?

Thanks
__________________
2007 Grand Cherokee Laredo 4.7/ Mopar Bodykit/ Flowmaster 40 delta
MZH29 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 01-28-2007, 11:57 AM   #6
BluesMan
Registered User
2001 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: SW Idaho
Posts: 993
Quote:
Originally Posted by lj_wil
There is an existing hole right above the gas pedal. I ran some power through there, that grommet is pretty tight so you may have to notch it so the wires don't pinch.
This is the one I used for the CB. There's also one over on the left of the drivers side a little lower down.
__________________
...Don't follow Chili Palmer into the trees...
BluesMan is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 01-28-2007, 12:33 PM   #7
tmwoodall
Registered User
1999 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 547
Quote:
Originally Posted by MZH29
Are you talking about the hole by the gas pedal?

Thanks
Yes sorry I should have clarified, but I am talking about the same grommet as everyone else, just letting you know there is plenty o' room
tmwoodall is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 01-28-2007, 12:41 PM   #8
Jerry Bransford
Administrator
 
Jerry Bransford's Avatar
2004 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Escondido, California, California
Posts: 60,897
Just make sure you use a wiring harness that uses a relay to provide the working current for the lights. You don't want to run all the current consumed by the lights into the cab and through the on-off switch.
__________________
Getting Savvy...

Coolest offroad magazine ever! CRAWL Magazine

When you have a choice, buy American.


TJ
HOLIDAY THEMED GIVEAWAY!
Jerry Bransford is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 01-28-2007, 04:31 PM   #9
MZH29
Registered User
2007 WK 
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Germantown, MD
Posts: 291
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerry Bransford
Just make sure you use a wiring harness that uses a relay to provide the working current for the lights. You don't want to run all the current consumed by the lights into the cab and through the on-off switch.

Would using the wiring kit that comes with the lights be sufficient? It says they come with a relay.
__________________
2007 Grand Cherokee Laredo 4.7/ Mopar Bodykit/ Flowmaster 40 delta
MZH29 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 01-28-2007, 06:01 PM   #10
tmwoodall
Registered User
1999 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 547
Yes the relay in the box is perfect for it. If you have a cb or amp that is a perfect place to rob in cabin power for the switch, I just wired up my Hellas and skipped the stock wiring alltogether, they are wired straight through the switch and the battery.
tmwoodall is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 01-28-2007, 07:03 PM   #11
MZH29
Registered User
2007 WK 
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Germantown, MD
Posts: 291
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmwoodall
Yes the relay in the box is perfect for it. If you have a cb or amp that is a perfect place to rob in cabin power for the switch, I just wired up my Hellas and skipped the stock wiring alltogether, they are wired straight through the switch and the battery.
What about if I don't have a cb or a amp in the cabin? Where would I power the switch from? Sorry for all the questions, just trying to get as much info before hand so it goes as smoothly as possible.
__________________
2007 Grand Cherokee Laredo 4.7/ Mopar Bodykit/ Flowmaster 40 delta
MZH29 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 01-28-2007, 07:19 PM   #12
nicolas-eric
Registered User
2006 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 1,816
i used the hole right above the gas pedal.

__________________
4" OME & 1" Spacer & LT Shocks • 2" BL • 1" MML • JKS Discos • JKS Rear Links • OME Steering Stabilizer
35x12.5x15 Cooper STT @ 8.5x15 • ARB Airlockers • ARB Diff Covers • 4.56 Gears • SS Brake Lines
Warn Skids • Genright Rock Slider • Smittybilt Rock Crawler Rear Bumper • Safari Snorkel • OBA
12.000 lbs Winch • Synthetic Winch Line • 4x 130W Hellas • 4x 200W Hellas @ Lightbar • E-Fan
Jeep TJ Runicon Pics www.timbercrawler.de
nicolas-eric is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 01-28-2007, 07:21 PM   #13
Rule303
Registered User
1998 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 2,077
I just installed my lights using that same hole about an hour ago!
Rule303 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 01-28-2007, 08:51 PM   #14
MZH29
Registered User
2007 WK 
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Germantown, MD
Posts: 291
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sparky05
I just installed my lights using that same hole about an hour ago!
How was did it go? Was it a pita?
__________________
2007 Grand Cherokee Laredo 4.7/ Mopar Bodykit/ Flowmaster 40 delta
MZH29 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 01-28-2007, 09:13 PM   #15
tmwoodall
Registered User
1999 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 547
I did mine a week ago, it is easy, the grommet will just pop out then cut your slits in it run your wires through it and push it back in. There is plenty of room to work with in the engine bay even.
tmwoodall is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.
Note: All free e-mails have been banned due to mis-use. (Yahoo, Gmail, Hotmail, etc.)
Don't have a non-free e-mail address? Click here for a solution: Manual Account Creation
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.


Thread Tools


Suggested Threads





Jeep, Wrangler, Cherokee, Grand Cherokee, and other models are copyrighted and trademarked to Jeep/Chrysler Corporation. JeepForum.com is not in any way associated with Jeep or the Chrysler Corp.