Rough idle after 1/2 mile drive... NEED HELP!!! - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > TJ Wrangler Technical Forum > Rough idle after 1/2 mile drive... NEED HELP!!!

ROCKRIDGE4WD Introduces a NEW Jeep Wrangler JK *led* tail Premium LED Lighting by VISION X, Proudly sold at ROCKRIDGNEW JK WRANGLER GRAB BARS NOW at ROCKRIDGE4WD

Unread 07-24-2009, 04:31 PM   #1
poobub
2004 TJ Wrangler 

Rough idle after 1/2 mile drive... NEED HELP!!!

Ok, so im new to the TJ forum. I recently sold my XJ and set my eyes on a TJ selling at a local dealership. Its a 98 sahara 4.0 with manual transmission and 82k on the clock. I bought this jeep knowing it had a few issues, but I had jeep fever and im afraid I've gotten myself into a mess. Ok for the problem, after startup I make it about 1/2 mile down the road (usually turning out onto a busy street ) and it seems to lose all power. It bogs down and refuses to take gas under load. I then have to pull over and rev the engine up and down for about 30 seconds to a minute then attemp pulling out once more. After this little issue the jeep will run fine for as long as it stays running. However if I shut it off and go in the store, I come back to the same problem. I am planning on doing a basic tune-up but cannot figure out why this problem only seems to exist shortly after startup and then never again. I have tried to research the forum but have not found any postings with this exact issue. Any help would be GREATLY appreciated.

poobub is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-24-2009, 04:33 PM   #2
yojeep79
1979 CJ7 

Check the throttle control sensor. Not saying thats it, but my uncles jeep did close to the same thing and thats what it was.I believe it was like 50 bucks.
yojeep79 is offline   Reply With Quote