Rear Defroster / Fuse Box ... How boned am I? - JeepForum.com
 1Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 47 Old 12-05-2016, 09:47 PM Thread Starter
regrebierf
1998 TJ Wrangler 

Garage
Rear Defroster / Fuse Box ... How boned am I?

So, it is getting to be that time of year where things get a bit hazy in the morning. This is my first winter with the Jeep, and I have never really needed to use the rear defroster until now. To give you some info, 1998 Sahara with Hard Top from factory. My build sheet (attained online from VIN) says that it came with the soft and hard top from the factory, but I have never seen the soft top, as I am the third owner. Unclear which it left the factory with.

Anywho, I get in the car this morning and go to turn it on and the switch did not stick, nor did the indicator light come on. It's a little cold outside and I am a student with no garage, so I didn't exactly have the time or facilities to take the dash apart. So, I decide to quickly look at the fuse and notice that there is not fuse in the #16 slot, where my rear defroster fuse should be. Upon further investigation, I find that there are no retainers either *refer to pictures*.

This brings up a few questions...
  1. Can I fix the fuse slot?
  2. If so, how can I fix the fuse slot?
  3. If not, do I need to get a new fuse block / suck it up and not have rear defrosters?
  4. Would the fuse not being there cause my switch to return (not work) and not light up?
  5. How boned am I?

Any help would be much appreciated...

Attached Thumbnails
IMG_20161205_222202.jpg   IMG_20161205_222131.jpg   IMG_20161205_222135.jpg  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 47 Old 12-06-2016, 02:35 AM
Jonny Jeep
Web Wheeler

1997 TJ Wrangler 

Fuse 16 is for the rear fog lamps and headlamp levelers fitted to export models. Your rear demist switch is supplied by fuse 17 (10A) HBL SW means Heated Back Light Switch.