Rear Axle clunking noise, need help! - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > TJ Wrangler Technical Forum > Rear Axle clunking noise, need help!

ZONE 4.25" combo lift for TJ available at Rockridge4wNEW!! HMF 50"-52" light bar mounting brackets!! ROCK BOTTOM prices on LIFT KITS at Rockridge4wd!! WANT TO

Unread 11-11-2013, 05:33 AM   #1
peladao
2003 TJ Wrangler 

Rear Axle clunking noise, need help!

Hello all,

I'm a Soldier stationed overseas and a new jeep owner. Bought a 2003 lifted Rubicon about a year ago; and I've loved it ever since. Recently, about two months ago I started hearing a loud clunking noise coming from the rear axle when I turn right (it just started doing it slightly when I turn left). I got underneath to check and notice that the upper control arm bushing on the drivers side is in bad shape. Asides from that, I didn't find anything else loose or worn out that I could see. My problem is, to order parts to Germany takes a while, and there are no affordable 4x4 shops where I can take my car to get looked at. I've attached a video of the rear axle where you can clearly hear the noise. Any help on what it might be, would be greatly appreciated.

The vehicle has a 4" Full Traction Short Arm lift, Tom Woods 1310 CV Shaft, Rubicon Express Rear Upper Arms, and JKS Rear Track Bar.

Video: http://www.flickr.com/photos/frontarea/10797803495/

V/R
Pablo P.

peladao is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-11-2013, 06:11 AM   #2
Scott_98TJ
1998 TJ Wrangler