PSC XC Fender Aluminum - Prep / Paint? - JeepForum.com

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 06-28-2016, 03:24 PM Thread Starter
grininmonkey
Web Wheeler

2004 TJ Wrangler 

PSC XC Fender Aluminum - Prep / Paint?

So I like the texture and slight roughness of the raw fenders and really just want to slap some black paint to them.

So as I understand it, I need to de-grease, vinegar wash and then primer with an etched primer before laying down a color.

Question is... Can I get away with not sanding them down? Or do I need to run something like 220 grit over them?

I don't have any powered sanding tools.. so it will have to be by hand, but that's not the real reason I would like to limit the sanding.. its the fact I like the texture... matches the texture of my bumper a good bit etc...

I am not that experienced in painting, but I do have access to a spray gun kit.. but sorta thinking about rattle can... any advise would be greatly appreciated!

_

Attached Thumbnails
IMG_20160628_171315448_HDR.jpg  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 Old 06-28-2016, 03:28 PM
Ironhead
2003 TJ Wrangler 

220 grit is far too coarse, I cant remember if i used a scotch brite pad or some 2500 grit sand paper, but basically the finest material you can find
post #3 of 7 Old 06-28-2016, 03:40 PM
blubaru2002
2002 TJ Wrangler 

Quote:
Originally Posted by grininmonkey