"Project Naomi" TJ Build - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > TJ Wrangler Technical Forum > "Project Naomi" TJ Build

JK specific skid plates from Clayton Off Road Mfg.RCV Heavy Duty Axle Shafts Now Shipping at Baseline4x4.comStainless Steel Door Hinge Pins

Unread 11-30-2008, 03:20 AM   #1
Whsperz
2000 TJ Wrangler 

"Project Naomi" TJ Build

First a quick background; I am a telecommunications engineer who just recently got the Jeep "Bug" bad! I had a station wagon (Grand Cherokee) for quite a few years and although it was great and reliable for the family, I never got into doing anything more with it because it is, dare I say, a 2WD southern Jeep. It was such a great deal and I really couldn't pass it up. I had no desire to do anything with it because, well, I was more into imports and muscle and that was all fine and dandy, until I took the job in Alaska. On my final interview I had asked how much it snows here. Here being "The Bridge to Nowhere" city they basically have Seattle, WA weather and it is a rain forest. I figured the station wagon would be fine up here. My long trip from Louisville, Kentucky to Alaska was via Canada on the TC-16. By doing this, I missed all the massive flooding in Washington State and Vancouver. But I did make the trip through snow almost all the way. So my little 4 1/2 day 3500 mile trip was pretty interesting knowing that if I got stuck, I had no 4WD to get out. I did wonderful until the last day of the trip. Pictures are posted here: http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/showt...08#post6077208 Needless to say, all was well, however 3 weeks later in our little city we had approximately 30 inches of snow. My Jeep didn't like it, we were low on cash so I ran around town with snow chains on. Figuring we will make it t