Problem with Dana 44s in a TJ - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > TJ Wrangler Technical Forum > Problem with Dana 44s in a TJ

FS: Wrangler RGB Multicolor Fog Light LEDs: Awesome EffectThanksgiving holiday sale in effect @ oconeeoffroad.comRugged Ridge 8500lb Winch w/ Steel Cable $294.99 Shipped O

Unread 04-25-2008, 11:01 AM   #1
hoggster

Problem with Dana 44s in a TJ

Hi, I'm helping a friend put a pair of dana 44s with OX lockers in his '97 TJ Wrangler. The front axle seals are some kind of aftermarket seal with a red annodized metal body that protrudes from the axle tube. The seal part looks like a normal seal that would be used from front engine seals, etc. I'm sorry if I don't know correct terminology for everything, I am a Volvo/Saab mechanic with little 4X4 experience.

We have the rear put in and everything went smoothly. We have the front installed, but we are having a problem with it. The side with the short shaft is fine. The problem is with the other side.

When you turn the steering knuckle, the axle shaft itsself moves from front to back. You can actually see the seal deflecting from this. The range of movement is around 1/4". We have the hub bolted down and the spindle nut installed, and as far as I can tell the Upper and Lower ball joints are also tight.
The shaft doesn't look like its pushed too far in, and the spindle nut should hold it in its correct position anyway.

We popped the diff cover off trying to see if something is improperly installed, but you really can't see anything with the locker mechanism in there.

Is the shaft supposed to move? What is supposed to support the shaft? Thanks.

hoggster is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 04-25-2008, 11:18 AM   #2
Dravintoad