Odometer errors - JeepForum.com
Search  
Sign Up   Today's Posts
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > TJ Wrangler Technical Forum > Odometer errors

End of Summer Sale, 20% OFF!2007 - 2011 Jeep JK Long Arm Lift KitsIntroducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed Line

Reply
Unread 08-20-2014, 11:21 AM   #1
BillMurry
Registered User
2003 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Olive, MI
Posts: 19
Odometer errors

Got a problem with the Odometer. The PO told me that something was wrong with the original instrument cluster and when they installed a replacement, the ODO reading stored in the cluster didn't match the number stored in the computer and so my ODO reads zeros all the way across. As a matter of fact it even shows lit up zeros when the key is OFF. PO said they took it to a dealer who said that there was a computer work around that could be done for $800 and that the two milages were 85,000 and 150,000 and he'd have to pick one. Well he didn't know which it should be but assumed the condition of the Jeep told him it should be 85,000. I don't know about all that. I've replaced clusters before in different vehicles and never ran into what they suggest is happening.

Does this sound correct. Is there anything I can do to fix it?

BillMurry is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-20-2014, 11:43 AM   #2
Neil F.
Registered User
2003 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Marlton, NJ
Posts: 2,683
It is correct that mileage is stored seperately in the pcm and cluster. If you obtain a used cluster it will have the mileage from the donor vehicle. I am not sure why yours is reading zeros
Neil F. is online now   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-20-2014, 11:59 AM   #3
BigRodney
Registered User
1997 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Bend, Oregon
Posts: 945
I've read about this before. It's done on purpose so any Joe blow can't just change the odometer reading. I'm no expert but I think only the dealership can resolve this.
BigRodney is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-20-2014, 01:02 PM   #4
BillMurry
Registered User
2003 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Olive, MI
Posts: 19
I'm going to attempt to swap another cluster in. I wrote that the odometer is suspect on the title when we bought it so I'm really not too worried about the actual mileage. Not to mention, technically speaking after ten years old mileage really doesn't matter much.
It's just be nice to have a tripometer that worked correctly and whatever else come through that display and not have it draining the battery when off.
BillMurry is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-20-2014, 02:35 PM   #5
Neil F.
Registered User
2003 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Marlton, NJ
Posts: 2,683
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigRodney View Post
I've read about this before. It's done on purpose so any Joe blow can't just change the odometer reading. I'm no expert but I think only the dealership can resolve this.
The dealer cannot change the cluster mileage

http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f9/re...t-help-983634/

http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f9/mi...luster-299939/

http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f9/pc...ssues-1142808/

http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f9/od...luster-191326/
Neil F. is online now   Reply With Quote




Jeep, Wrangler, Cherokee, Grand Cherokee, and other models are copyrighted and trademarked to Jeep/Chrysler Corporation. JeepForum.com is not in any way associated with Jeep or the Chrysler Corp.