post #1 of Old 09-14-2013, 05:16 PM Thread Starter
Jerry Bransford
Administrator
 
Jerry Bransford's Avatar
2004 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Escondido, California
Posts: 64,008
Novak cable t-case shifter broke two cables?

A friend in my local Jeep club has had two broken t-case shifter cables on his Novak shifter. He says it is installed properly, does anyone have any insight into this problem?

He's about to replace the Novak with the Advance Adapters kit if he can't figure out why he has had two broken shifter cables.


Getting Savvy...

When you have a choice, buy American.
Jerry Bransford is offline  
post #2 of Old 09-14-2013, 09:52 PM
mrblaine
Wizard of Brakes
 
mrblaine's Avatar
1999 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Quail Valley
Posts: 29,196
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerry Bransford View Post
A friend in my local Jeep club has had two broken t-case shifter cables on his Novak shifter. He says it is installed properly, does anyone have any insight into this problem?

He's about to replace the Novak with the Advance Adapters kit if he can't figure out why he has had two broken shifter cables.
A bit of clarification on the break would help. There has been an issue with the crimps that hold the housing ends onto the housing not being tight enough. If you try to shift it and heave on it without it rolling, it will squirt the housing end off of the housing. Not technically a break but more of a crimp failure.

Gerald did the same thing to the cable shifters from AA on his Atlas before he learnt not to.

I am Savvy
blackmagicbrakes.com
Knowledge does not equal understanding.
mrblaine is online now  
post #3 of Old 09-15-2013, 06:26 AM
AllTerrainJK
Registered User
1998 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 368
Just had to teach my son the same thing yesterday. We installed the Novak on his TJ and he was still having a hard time putting in 4 low. He would come to a complete stop then try to yank it up. I told him let that thing roll just a little. He did that and it's smooth as butter. Another lesson learnt.

Roads? Where we're going we don't need roads!

Roads? Where we're going we don't need roads!
My Build
Tub Replacement and Restoration
AllTerrainJK is offline  
post #4 of Old 09-15-2013, 09:11 AM Thread Starter
Jerry Bransford
Administrator
 
Jerry Bransford's Avatar
2004 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Escondido, California
Posts: 64,008
Thank you Blaine. I sent him a link to this thread & he said you described what happened perfectly... that he yanked hard on it while sitting in the driveway & it broke. As said, it's best to be rolling a tad when pulling it into 4Lo.

Getting Savvy...

When you have a choice, buy American.
Jerry Bransford is offline  
post #5 of Old 09-15-2013, 03:28 PM
mrblaine
Wizard of Brakes
 
mrblaine's Avatar
1999 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Quail Valley
Posts: 29,196
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerry Bransford View Post
Thank you Blaine. I sent him a link to this thread & he said you described what happened perfectly... that he yanked hard on it while sitting in the driveway & it broke. As said, it's best to be rolling a tad when pulling it into 4Lo.
Let him know that no cable of that type will withstand that abuse long term.

If he wants to yank on it, he needs to go back to solid links and rod ends and then hope he doesn't break the shift fork in the t-case.

I am Savvy
blackmagicbrakes.com
Knowledge does not equal understanding.
mrblaine is online now  
post #6 of Old 09-15-2013, 03:31 PM Thread Starter
Jerry Bransford
Administrator
 
Jerry Bransford's Avatar
2004 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Escondido, California
Posts: 64,008
Will do, thanks Blaine.

Getting Savvy...

When you have a choice, buy American.
Jerry Bransford is offline  
post #7 of Old 09-17-2013, 09:04 PM
Shark45
Registered User
2004 LJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Oceanside
Posts: 29
Thanks Guys I'm back on the road.
Shark45 is offline  
post #8 of Old 09-17-2013, 10:45 PM
Necko2529
Registered User
2003 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Brookfield
Posts: 2,569
I remember binding during instal and trying to adjust it. It would bind real bad and start spreading/bending brackets. Now i have it dialed in so well i cam shift without any problems at all, it did take a good while and lots of frustration...

Rokmen TT, Rokmen control arms, Novak NV241 cable shifter, JKS 1.25" BL + 1" MML.

Anybody can take advice if it doesn't interfere with their plan.

RIP "Prescott 19" Prescott Fire Department
Necko2529 is offline  
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome