no bu5 - JeepForum.com
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 Old 08-22-2007, 09:32 AM Thread Starter
wegotj
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: west chicago
Posts: 213
no bu5

thats the error message that came up and screwed up my whole cluster of gauges.

wat is it?

wegotj is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 Old 08-22-2007, 11:50 AM
DeesTJ
Registered User
2000 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Westminster, CO
Posts: 658
go to the FAQ and do a search..there is a very detailed step by step guide to walk you through it...

FAQ is your friend

Colorado Jeep Club Member # 315
DeesTJ is offline  
post #3 of 14 Old 08-22-2007, 12:08 PM
rjt36
Registered User
 
rjt36's Avatar
2009 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Fair Lawn, NJ
Posts: 1,439
I've gotten this, too, and I looked it up and found no mention of a no bu5. I have no idea what it means. Do you have a link to it in the FAQ?
rjt36 is offline  
post #4 of 14 Old 08-22-2007, 12:08 PM
BlkBird
Registered User
2004 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Moscow Mills, Missouri
Posts: 954
I dont know what's wrong with your truck but going to FAQ and doing a search for "no bu5" yielded 0 results.

2004 Wrangler X 4.0
2000 Cherokee Sport 4.0
1992 Dakota Sport 5.9
1971 Pontiac Firebird
BlkBird is offline  
post #5 of 14 Old 08-22-2007, 12:41 PM
rjt36
Registered User
 
rjt36's Avatar
2009 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Fair Lawn, NJ
Posts: 1,439
I have a feeling its just a part of the programming, and it's nothing to be concerned about. Maybe someone will know.

There's nothing wrong with mine. I was just randomly checking for codes and it came up. I can't remember if it always did it or not.
rjt36 is offline  
post #6 of 14 Old 08-22-2007, 01:24 PM
Stang_guru
Registered User
2005 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Virginia
Posts: 50
"no bus" means the "bus"( used to let various modules communicate to each other and the PCM) is not working, could be a bad connection behind the cluster, or bad connector completely. i've heard there was a TSB for this problem, not 100% sure as I havnt had this problem.

if it were me, i'd pull the cluster and check all the connections behind it really well and make sure all the blades have good contact.

2005 TJ, Rockey Mountain Edition, 4.0, D44, 6-sp, Patriot Blue.
2002 Mustang GT 'Vert, 5-sp, not stock, Mineral Gray.
2001 Ranger XLT , 4.0, 5-sp, White.
Rocky Mountain Edition Club Member #5
Blue Jeep Club Member #242
Stang_guru is offline  
post #7 of 14 Old 08-22-2007, 01:28 PM
rubba19
Registered User
1999 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Laurel, MD
Posts: 31
Temporary fix is to pound the top on the dash until you can get in there. Usually gets them to reconnect.

That or a big bump in the road.
rubba19 is offline  
post #8 of 14 Old 08-22-2007, 01:36 PM
Stang_guru
Registered User
2005 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Virginia
Posts: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by rubba19
Temporary fix is to pound the top on the dash until you can get in there. Usually gets them to reconnect.

That or a big bump in the road.

you know, even with my certifications, ive found that through my years of expierience, that there have been very few times that i havnt been able to fix something with a heavy fist, or a BFH lol. it just works lol.

2005 TJ, Rockey Mountain Edition, 4.0, D44, 6-sp, Patriot Blue.
2002 Mustang GT 'Vert, 5-sp, not stock, Mineral Gray.
2001 Ranger XLT , 4.0, 5-sp, White.
Rocky Mountain Edition Club Member #5
Blue Jeep Club Member #242
Stang_guru is offline  
post #9 of 14 Old 08-22-2007, 02:15 PM
rjt36
Registered User
 
rjt36's Avatar
2009 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Fair Lawn, NJ
Posts: 1,439
To the OP, what kind of cluster problems are you having? I got the same code, but I don't have any problems. Everything works fine, that's why I ignored it. I'm going to give it a shot in a couple minutes when I head home and see if I still get it a few weeks later.
rjt36 is offline  
post #10 of 14 Old 08-22-2007, 02:18 PM
JoonHoss
Registered User
2011 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Washington State
Posts: 6,970
as mentioned, it is the connection to the guage cluster at the back, (in the dash)

it is most commonly cured by removing the cluster, very slightly 'bending' the pins outward to make better contact, and re-installing. some also use a small amount of di-electric grease...

http://www.google.com/custom?domains...D%3A1%3B&hl=en


Hoss

"Genius may have its limitations, but stupidity is not thus handicapped."
JoonHoss is online now  
post #11 of 14 Old 08-22-2007, 03:20 PM
DeesTJ
Registered User
2000 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Westminster, CO
Posts: 658
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeesTJ
go to the FAQ and do a search..there is a very detailed step by step guide to walk you through it...

FAQ is your friend


"guages quit working"

just give the pins a gentle twist (careful not to break them) hasn't happened since i did the fix 3 years ago.

For the short term i used to hit the horn with the side of my fist (a couple quick/solid taps should do)

and while you're back there might as well pull the bulb for the shift light!!!!

Colorado Jeep Club Member # 315
DeesTJ is offline  
post #12 of 14 Old 08-22-2007, 04:27 PM
EG00TJ
Registered User
 
EG00TJ's Avatar
1993 XJ Cherokee 
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Sacramento , Cali
Posts: 737
Yea i got that twice in a week about 4 months ago. never did it again...

96 ZJ Longarm
Previous rigs : 96xj , 92 xj , 00 tj , 90 xj , 93 Longarm XJ
EG00TJ is offline  
post #13 of 14 Old 10-25-2007, 09:56 PM
vswv8
Registered User
 
vswv8's Avatar
1999 XJ Cherokee 
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: michigan
Posts: 110
looking for ground info...my 99 xj has the no bu5 in the od..and i have already gone to a dealer and had the above mentioned sb preformed...didn't change a thing......hit the power door locks to the locked position and hold it there and every thing works,,,map lites seem dim though when you do this..but they don't fuction at all if yu don't hold the pdl in locked position...fuel gauge is the only gauge that operates after you hold pdl in locked position and release it....everything else goes dead in cluster..........
vswv8 is offline  
post #14 of 14 Old 10-25-2007, 10:06 PM
jdragger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Claremont, California
Posts: 245
Guys - check your battery or system voltage. A little voltage drop will do this and other weird things. If things make no sense all ways check the power supply - in your computer at home and on the jeep.
jdragger is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.



Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome