New Jeep Owner need some help!!!! Mismatched gear ratios? - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > TJ Wrangler Technical Forum > New Jeep Owner need some help!!!! Mismatched gear ratios?

Save at JeepHut on Smittybilt Soft topsECGS Labor Day Sale!!New DEAL OF THE WEEK at ROCKRIDGE 4WD!

Unread 09-15-2011, 08:32 PM   #1
Jeeper_joe
1999 TJ Wrangler 

New Jeep Owner need some help!!!! Mismatched gear ratios?

hey guys just got a 97 TJ 2.5L 5spd with 147k for basically $3k, nice jeep so far. It has aftermarket bumpers, 4'' lift with 35's, stock axles, and im pretty sure it has 4.88 gears out bk and 4.10s up front though i havent pulled the covers off yet to make sure, u can feel some binding in 4wd that im sure isnt normal.... basically im totally new to wheelin a jeep decently machanically inclined and need some advice on where to spend money affectively.........

ANY advise is very much appreicated

Jeeper_joe is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-16-2011, 03:49 AM   #2
Dolfy
2000 TJ Wrangler 

If you have different gearing in the front axle then that is where you need to spend your money first. Your axles need to match and if they don't and you use your 4wd you can really screw it up. You should find out what you have in your axles first before you use it in 4wd.

You may also want to read this thread about running 35's on a d35.

http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f9/35...-bomb-1262916/
Blue Jeep Club member #170

Thought for the day:
Some people are like Slinkies... They don't really have a purpose, but they still bring a huge smile to your face when you push them down a flight of stairs.......
Dolfy is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-16-2011, 05:29 AM   #3
mikesbeachhut
2003 TJ Wrangler