Need guidance with TJ - Page 2 - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > TJ Wrangler Technical Forum > Need guidance with TJ

ARTEC JK UNDER ARMOR - 4 door Bellypan KitsPoison Spyder DeFender Inner Fender KitsCess Recovery Gear Snatch Tow Strap OffRoad @ ROCKRIDGE4WD

Unread 11-17-2012, 11:22 PM   #16
RayRay05
2003 TJ Wrangler 

Two inch with 35's looks real sexy but I don't know the first thing about how to go about doing that.

RayRay05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-17-2012, 11:44 PM   #17
slmason72

2003 TJ Wrangler 

He's BSing about the 2" and 35's... Just wont fit. Not even with the $1100 of tube fenders and flairs on his jeep.

I'm fairly new to all of this as well... Look up the Tj boot camp thread and the FAQ sticky... Loads of great info in those sections. Read up. You might even change your mind about the RC lift.

As far as what else you need, compare what you are getting to some of the other kits and see what's not included. I don't even see a drop pitman in that kit. What I do see, and you might not, is a transfer case drop... You know that pregnant looking belly pan under the center of your jeep? The one that makes it look 3-4 months pregnant? It's going to look 7-8 months pregnant with that kit.
The purpose of the drop is to (in-elegantly) try to preserve your driveshaft u-joints by bringing the severely adjusted driveline angle (4" lift = stock everything is outta whack) back close to the outside limit of acceptable.
Rather than drop the transfer case, go for a 1.25 body lift and a 1" motor mount lift. At least that way you should clear those 35s... Then is you have drive line vibrations, you can lower the Tcase Slightly with washers until it stops.