Jeep Enthusiast Forums banner

More Death Wobble.

3K views 38 replies 13 participants last post by  Graydog 
#1 ·
Just because everything loves reading more threads about the same issue. Sorry guys. First off, I am somewhat mechanically inclined, mostly self taught in the last few years (thanks in a large part to JF and a few others), but seriously lacking in tools. I've had to borrow friends' and relatives' garages/tools to do most of my installs.

Long story short, I am in need of helping pinning this down! Any advice would be very welcome.

Background: About a month ago I was driving along a nice smooth road at ~80kph when the front end started wobbling a little (bit of a shimmy). It stopped before I pulled over, scratched my head, drove home without any problems. Re-torqued all the bolts in the front end the next day, didn't notice anything loose or abnormal. Went off-roading a few times, did plenty of driving in the interim, no problems.

About a week ago, driving around 100kph (~60mph), started as small shimmy, quickly built up into full on car-shaking-apart death wobble. Limped it home (happened twice more), looked for unusual play/looseness on the ground and jacked up, nothing stood out. Unfortunately didn't have access to all the tools I needed, so I couldn't properly check everything.

The Professional Opinions:Took it into 3 different shops, two of which I trust(ed) quite a bit, one a friend recommended. In order, an alignment shop, a suspension/spring outfit and a general off-road specialty. All three shops tell me everything on the front end is perfect, no damaged parts, no abnormal play.

The first shop tells me I have a "caster wobble", due to my 2.5" lift putting castor out of spec, and recommends adjustable front LCAs to correct it. Right. (Incidentally, I did have it aligned after the lift went on around Christmas, and checked again last week. Castor is currently 5.2* L/R, 0.8* out of factory spec)