Modification advice for light wheeling. - Page 2 - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > TJ Wrangler Technical Forum > Modification advice for light wheeling.

FS: Wrangler RGB Multicolor Fog Light LEDs: Awesome EffectSavvy Aluminum Gas Tank SkidFS: 2007-2013 Jeep Wrangler "HALO" Angel Eye Kit

Unread 07-14-2010, 12:21 PM   #16
RowJ
1998 TJ Wrangler 

Quote:
Originally Posted by cam36 View Post
im a complete rookie lol, im not sure which axle i have or my rear gear ratio lol....how do i go about finding that out....sorry about my lack of knowledge haha
I'm as new as you around here.... just a few more yrs of living under my belt!
Plate (between two bolts) on the rear pumpkin cover, or..........
Go to dealer Parts Dept, with VIN #, and ask for a "Build Sheet". Free and it wil list all factory parts/options installed on your TJ. Handy to have!

Plate on my axle reads... "3 07 5993-1". That's a 3.07 gear ratio.
Other row of #'s is for different info.

RJ

RowJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-14-2010, 12:53 PM   #17
Unlimited04
This post/info=my opinion

2004 LJ Wrangler 

Quote:
im a complete rookie lol, im not sure which axle i have or my rear gear ratio lol....how do i go about finding that out....sorry about my lack of knowledge haha
See the Boot Camp Thread linked in my sig? click that.

lucky for you the 6-speed manual has pretty close, deep gearing, so you wont notice the tire size change near as much as an auto.
Unlimited04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-14-2010, 03:25 PM   #18
bmw91
2004 TJ Wrangler 

Quote:
look at your front axle on the left side of the differential cover. there should be a tag between the two center bolts, well on mine it is anyways.