Jeep Enthusiast Forums banner

LJ extended corner guards over damaged sheet metal

2K views 10 replies 5 participants last post by  toximus 
#1 ·
Hi there, first post because i'm just getting into the jeep world. Bought a wrecked LJ, hit in the driver side quarter. PLanning to build a crawler that can drive to the trail. It won't be the daily, have a taco for that.

I bought extended corner guards from MetalCloak to cover the damage. I want to bounce my plan off you guys. So I've sort of hammered out the panel as good as i can get. Do you think i should just bolt the top of the guards on then use fasteners through the corner guard and panel to pull the OEM sheet metal tight?

Would you be worried about rust in voids? The paint survived the accident quite well actually. I was planning to sand a bit and hit with rustoleum as needed to make sure nothing is bare then a bead of RTV black on the top seam to keep water from running inbetween and then leave the bottom unseals so hopefully moisture will run out if it manages to find its way in. Do you think i should seal the hole circumference with RTV?

Paint plan for armor is like a dark coyote brown over the OEM green/bronze. How do you think the two tone will look?

Attachments

See less See more
#3 ·