Light Bar - JeepForum.com
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 03-02-2013, 10:28 AM Thread Starter
424031
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 0
Light Bar

how do you fish a main wire through a light bar and tap into it for all other lights? i dont know how to get it in and out again to tap into it.

424031 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 03-02-2013, 11:23 AM
greene69
Registered User
2001 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Concord, Oak Island
Posts: 1,576
My light bar is 2 pieces, i made all my splices on the top part then just slid the "legs" part that mounts to the windshield bracket over then. I have 2 switches so only 2 wires come out of the end.

It's better to be dead and cool than alive and uncool.
Nothing like a permanent reminder of a temporary feeling. I have a few.
4.0 auto, 8.8 rear with detroit locker, 4.10's and 33x 12.50's
greene69 is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 03-02-2013, 01:48 PM
Newtons3
Registered User
2006 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Baton Rouge
Posts: 721
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmbillups View Post
how do you fish a main wire through a light bar and tap into it for all other lights? i dont know how to get it in and out again to tap into it.
Each one is a little different, but normally I make all the taps before pulling the harness through. Then depending on the number of lights I'm installing, I run tie wire through in reverse and capture the legs and pull them through together. This allows me to wrap the harness in split-loom before the pull. If fishing the wire through is the issue in either direction, try plugging all holes except the exit and blowing a string through with compressed air. Then pull the tie wire, etc. Alternatively, you can pull the termination end through and reach through the hole in your light bar with a hook and fish the wires out. Again, depending on your app., you can turn your light bar into a grounded structure, pull only the hot wires, and ground each light to the bar, reducing the number of wires you have to pull. Just remember that the ground has to be sufficient for all of the lights and ground wire size has to be increased sufficiently.
Newtons3 is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 03-02-2013, 06:16 PM Thread Starter
424031
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 0
Thanks guys! I got it! This is four of the five kc daylighters on the bar. fifth one isnt on yet because i have to drill a hole in the bar to ground the light to like all the others had, not sure why the middle one didnt have it...
424031 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.



Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome