JK axle swap to TJ - JeepForum.com
Search  
Sign Up   Today's Posts
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > TJ Wrangler Technical Forum > JK axle swap to TJ

Want to be able to SEE? DOT Approved Headlights for under Flowmaster Overstock: Special Holiday Pricing!!!!RIGID LED Light Blowout Sale - All Sizes, All Series, all

Reply
Unread 07-22-2010, 08:41 PM   #1
?????
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 126
JK axle swap to TJ

Can I see what those of you who have swapped JK axles in to your TJ have done for the rear e-brake? What did you do about the tabs for the e-brake lines on the axle (they are right where I want my lower control arms to go), and what e-brake lines did you use?

????? is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 07-22-2010, 09:06 PM   #2
Bennettj13
Web Wheeler
 
Bennettj13's Avatar
2005 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Pendleton, IN
Posts: 5,373
Quote:
Originally Posted by ????? View Post
Can I see what those of you who have swapped JK axles in to your TJ have done for the rear e-brake? What did you do about the tabs for the e-brake lines on the axle (they are right where I want my lower control arms to go), and what e-brake lines did you use?
I didn't ever re-connect it.
__________________
::SELLING HALF OF MY JEEP::

http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f33/?uid=152304

Rear Currie 4" coils - 190 shipped. (They've been sitting in the back of my Jeep for mock up but won't work out for me.)

Hornblasters Shocker S4 horn set with some extras $210 shipped. (It is not OBA, just an accessory for OBA)

"LCOG" isn't cheap and it certainly isn't easy. If you think so, you are doing it wrong. If you aren't willing to put in the effort, don't label your build "LCOG". You are just a cheap ******bag.

IndyORV- Dick and fart jokes, titties, throttle, flops, beer, tater balls, and good times.
Bennettj13 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 07-23-2010, 12:23 PM   #3
?????
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 126
Anyone else that did reconnect it?
????? is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 07-26-2010, 02:31 PM   #4
?????
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 126
ttt
????? is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 07-26-2010, 02:49 PM   #5
Apex
Recon death squad
 
Apex's Avatar
2002 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Berea, OH
Posts: 5,534
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bennettj13 View Post
I didn't ever re-connect it.
Lol silly manual transmissions and their need for e-brakes.

My 9" won't be getting an e-brake either
__________________
Silver 02 TJ Apex Edition. SOLD

Current vehicles: 06 F250 Superduty - 6.0L PSD Straight piped and tuned
03 CBR600RR -1 +2, Yoshi'd & Battlaxed

Quote:
Originally Posted by bddisi View Post
Finesse in crawling looks way cooler than momentum.
Apex is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 07-26-2010, 03:58 PM   #6
Commando81
Registered User
2002 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Syracuse, New York
Posts: 238
Quote:
Originally Posted by Apex View Post
Lol silly manual transmissions and their need for e-brakes.

My 9" won't be getting an e-brake either
I need a functioning Ebrake for inspection.
Commando81 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 07-28-2010, 10:11 PM   #7
?????
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 126
Quote:
Originally Posted by Apex View Post
Lol silly manual transmissions and their need for e-brakes.

My 9" won't be getting an e-brake either
I have an auto, but the e-brake is still nice to have.
????? is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 01-26-2011, 03:49 PM   #8
Madeoflite
Registered User
1997 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Lakeland, FL
Posts: 258
Bump ???
Madeoflite is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 02-22-2011, 12:22 PM   #9
bbr0w
Registered User
2003 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: , FL
Posts: 4
Did you ever find a solution for the e-brake?? If not, you can use the Lokar e-brake kit for a Ford Explorer with an 8.8. You can order the kit from Summit Racing, or JEGS.
bbr0w is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 02-22-2011, 07:03 PM   #10
?????
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 126
Quote:
Originally Posted by bbr0w View Post
Did you ever find a solution for the e-brake?? If not, you can use the Lokar e-brake kit for a Ford Explorer with an 8.8. You can order the kit from Summit Racing, or JEGS.
Do you have pictures of this? The TJ and JK have different methods of attachment for the e-brake by the drum.
????? is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 02-22-2011, 08:59 PM   #11
HemiTJ
Registered User
1997 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Poughkeepsie, NY, State of Taxes!
Posts: 96
I put JK axles in my 97 TJ and I used the factory JK lines up to the TJ junction/ adjuster.
HemiTJ is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 02-23-2011, 06:36 PM   #12
bbr0w
Registered User
2003 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: , FL
Posts: 4
I didn't have the cables that came with the JK axles - so the kit I purchased was for an 8.8 Ford, which hooks over a lever, but you can spread the clevis and use a 1/4" bolt for attaching.
bbr0w is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 02-23-2011, 07:41 PM   #13
BLUZTJ
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Ashford, WV
Posts: 46
I had e brake cables from disc brakes, and used a 1/4 bolt to attach.
BLUZTJ is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 02-23-2011, 07:45 PM   #14
BLUZTJ
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Ashford, WV
Posts: 46
I used the e brake cables from 35 disc brake, and used a 1/4 blot to attach to the JK 44.
BLUZTJ is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 03-24-2011, 08:30 AM   #15
bbr0w
Registered User
2003 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: , FL
Posts: 4
I have a question: What did you guys do about the speed sensors? Did you just splice the old cables to the new speed sensors?

-Bryan
bbr0w is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Tags
jk , tj , wrangler , axle , swap , help , advice

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.
Note: All free e-mails have been banned due to mis-use. (Yahoo, Gmail, Hotmail, etc.)
Don't have a non-free e-mail address? Click here for a solution: Manual Account Creation
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.


Thread Tools


Suggested Threads





Jeep, Wrangler, Cherokee, Grand Cherokee, and other models are copyrighted and trademarked to Jeep/Chrysler Corporation. JeepForum.com is not in any way associated with Jeep or the Chrysler Corp.