Jeep Wrangler low 4WD : is this a hassle to engage? - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > TJ Wrangler Technical Forum > Jeep Wrangler low 4WD : is this a hassle to engage?

Savvy FOX IFP 4" Lift Shocks in StockSavvy/Currie Aluminum Control ArmsSavvy Aluminum Gas Tank Skid

Unread 07-07-2004, 11:11 PM   #1
stevenjs

Jeep Wrangler low 4WD : is this a hassle to engage?

Greetings all,

After 20 years of motorcycling I've been looking to buy my first "car," and I've had a lifelong desire to own a Jeep Wrangler. I have some regular need for off road capabilities, and from what I have read at the Jeep web site (being a complete newbie to 4WD), getting into low 4WD seems like a magic trick, or a major hassle. And that's for the 2004 models.

The jeep site says, in order to use low 4WD, you have to shift into neutral while going 2-3 mph, then engage the low 4WD, and shift into gear. All the while you're going up hill when you realize you need it????!!

It sounds rather difficult even on level ground or an easy decline. And 2-3 mph? What if it's 1 or 4 mph? Then it doesn't work? And the procedure is what, eyeball the speedometer for 2-3 mph, as fast as can be shift into neutral, engage the drive, and shift into gear before you accidentally get to 4 mph or slip to 1 mph??!

I'd much appreciate hearing from those experienced with jeeps who can shed some light on real world engagement and use of low 4WD.

Thanks.

regards,

stevenjs

stevenjs is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 07-07-2004, 11:23 PM   #2
TellyDSP
Poland and PPV!!!!
1995 YJ Wrangler