Jeep won't turn over - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > TJ Wrangler Technical Forum > Jeep won't turn over

Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed LineRubicon Express Suspensions from CCOR 706-207-4140Smittybilt Hard Tops @ Oconee Off-Road! 706-534-9955

Unread 11-21-2008, 01:36 PM   #1
jeffmc
2003 TJ Wrangler 

Jeep won't turn over

New to the forum here. I'm hoping you guru's can help a desk jockey like me get my Jeep going...

I've got a 2003 Jeep Wrangler Sport w/ automatic transmission. The engine will not turn over. All electrical is working. When I turn the key, I get a single "click" - and that's it. I'm no mechanic, but not I'm not totally hopeless. I did a little research and a little testing....

Battery is good - even bought a brand new one. Doesn't work when jumped either.

When I turn the key with the headlights on, they do not dim.

I replaced the Starter Relay with a known good one (from the fog lights). I made sure the original one worked as well, by testing it in the fog lights.

I tested the voltage at the starter solenoid (the fat, red wire connected to the battery) - it's good.

I tested the ignition wire (the thin black wire that plugs onto a spade) at the solenoid when the key is turned - NO POWER.

I'm thinking it's either the Neutral Safety Switch, or the Ignition Switch. BUT, my backup lights come on when I put it in Reverse (so I'm thinking the NSS should be good??).

I tried "jumping" the solenoid by touching the post and spade together with a screwdriver. The engine turns strong but will not start.

(I'm gonna try the last thing again, just to make sure - I was really surprised it didn't start. The Jeep has always started very easily)

Any ideas?? Thanks in advance!

-Jeff