Jeep TJ Exhaust Issue - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > TJ Wrangler Technical Forum > Jeep TJ Exhaust Issue

End of Summer Sale, 20% OFF!Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed LineRough Country Jeep Suspension Deals at Rockridge 4WD!

Unread 09-03-2013, 10:58 AM   #1
beerdawg21
1997 TJ Wrangler 

Jeep TJ Exhaust Issue

ok i'm new to all of this. I inherited a 1997 jeep sahara TJ from my uncle who passed away in may of 2012. while that may not seem vital information... i recently found out it may be more important than i thought. amonst other things, one of the main causes of death was Atherosclerosis... key point to come up later.

now on to my issue. as this is my first jeep and i don't know much about all the querks and things jeeps do. i don't know if it's running louder than normal or if there is a leak from the muffler or the manifold or any of that. all i know is that it gives off an exhaust smell and has started giving me a headache. this past weekend i did alot of rambling around town(stop and go) with my doors off and hard top on...and it was worse than i have noticed before.

my wife has been on me about getting it checked out and fixed because she hates riding in it due to the smell and worries about the carbon monoxide hurting me/her/kids.. whoever is in it... and she also believes it might have been a part of my uncles issues in the first place.. so after the weekend i googled effects of carbon monoxide, now I'm not stupid and i know it's not safe and can kill you, but i was just curious what all the side effects are of long term exposure...