Installation of Smittybilt rear bumper is driving me crazy... - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > TJ Wrangler Technical Forum > Installation of Smittybilt rear bumper is driving me crazy...

Toxic Brakes - 3000 PSI Braided Stainless Steel Brake LineRugged Ridge Modular XHD Snorkel Now for both 3.8L and 3.6ZONE 4.25" combo lift for TJ available at Rockridge4w

Unread 07-11-2010, 11:03 AM   #1
wranglerWestLA
2003 TJ Wrangler 

Installation of Smittybilt rear bumper is driving me crazy...

So I bought this bumper with tire carrier cause at the end I paid 240 dollars for it.
Regular price here in CA 349 plus taxes.
I tried to install it but there is no way I am able to put it on.

Facts:
I am not that good at these things but I did install successfully the front bumper and the winch.

Instructions that came with the bumper are terrible.

I am having issues in positioning the rear backing plates.

I have a 97 TJ so I do not have to drill anything.
The problem is that I can't access the holes where the gas tank is.
I also lowered the gas tank plate cause I have been told I would have had more space.

They suggested to start from the central holes but everytime I am able to position the central right backing plates (for some reason more accessible than the central left)...i am unable to screw the bolts in.

So bottom line I am frustrated and desperate

A step by step installation would be appreciated (I read the thread with 30 pages but everyone more or less says that the installation is fairly easy!!!)

Thanks.

wranglerWestLA is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 07-11-2010, 11:06 AM   #2
jeepinmichguy_
I haz ah Geep

2003 TJ Wrangler