I'm new with a bunch of ?'s - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > TJ Wrangler Technical Forum > I'm new with a bunch of ?'s

Premium LED Lighting by VISION X, Proudly sold at ROCKRIDGBds fox ipf 2.0 racing series shocks now available at rockEngo winches available at www.rockridge4wd.com! Free shipp

Unread 09-13-2005, 05:38 PM   #1
ROLNOVR
1997 TJ Wrangler 

I'm new with a bunch of ?'s

I finally got my Jeep a couple weeks ago after dreaming about one for over a year. It's a '97 TJ and I love it.

But right now, it's strickly stock. And I want to change that. However, I will not be doing any extreme offroading. I will be doing some, though. I would like to add a lift and some bigger tires, however my budget is somewhat limited. I've been reading a lot of stuff about it and needless to say, I'm very confused.

So my questions are:

1. What kind of lift should I get? I've read things about a budget boost, a body lift and a suspension lift. Which is the best for the car and for me as a driver? And where's the best place to purchase these things?

2. I've read that the biggest tire I can fit on my TJ are 31"s. That's all good great grand and wonderful, however, if I do get some sort of lift, will the tires look stupid because they're smaller?

3. If I get new tires, will I also have to get new rims? I've been to a couple tire places (i.e., Mr. Tire, NTB. I learned that hard way that they don't know diddly squat). Which rims are the best deal (translation: cheapest) and where can I get them?

4. I love having my doors off but the lack of mirrors are killing me (and the threat of getting pulled over for no mirror on my driver side). Are the brackets that use that factory mirror worth it?