Jeep Enthusiast Forums banner

how to properly get air out of your cooling system

30K views 10 replies 7 participants last post by  gmiller0737 
#1 ·
I need to flush my heater core but while I am doing that I wanted to replace all of my coolant. I am sorry if this has been disscused before but I am new to jeeps and I came from a BMW that had its own process on how to bleed the cooling system. Can anyone point me to a write up or explain to me how to properly refill and bleed all the air out of the system? I have a 1997 Sahara 4.0l I6. Any help is always appreciated.

#2 ·
I fill the rad up about 3/4 of the way, then start the engine and wait for it to heat up and the thermostat to open. Then I finish filling it up. Its a bit messy if your not careful because the escaping air can burp coolant out, but it is foolproof for getting all the air out.

#3 ·
buy this kit:
http://www.oreillyauto.com/site/c/d...keyword=prestone+diy+flush&pt=N0185&ppt=C0075

Step 1: drain the radiator into a 5-gallon bucket, cap it, and install the flush kit as directed by the instructions, then fill the system up with the garden hose. flush the system by leaving the radiator cap off as directed by the instructions.

Step 2: after flush is complete, turn the hose off and remove it. drain the system again and cap the flush T. refill the whole system (radiator & bottle) with distilled water and go for a drive to pump the distilled water around & get the system hot. or you can leave the radiator cap off till the engine gets hot enough to push water out.