Holy Track Bar Bushings Batman! Wobble & Bump Steer Solved for $10 & 2 Hours - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > TJ Wrangler Technical Forum > Holy Track Bar Bushings Batman! Wobble & Bump Steer Solved for $10 & 2 Hours

FS: Jeep Fog Light LED Bulbs! Several Brightness Options! SPARTAN LOCKERS are on sale BIG TIME at ROCKRIDGE 4WD!Yukon Ultimate 35 axle kit for c/clip axles with Yukon Zip

Unread 11-14-2011, 09:01 AM   #1
chicagoanalog
1997 TJ Wrangler 

Holy Track Bar Bushings Batman! Wobble & Bump Steer Solved for $10 & 2 Hours

I'm a novice wrencher to say the least. I can do most repairs if I follow a manual or writeup but I've always struggled with suspension. Half of that has to do with having the space and right tools to work with. But this weekend I was pleasantly surprised that $10 and 2 hours of work solved a problem that I have struggled with for almost 3 years.

Since I bought my TJ I've had a pretty serious steering / suspension problem. Always had a little wobble above 50mph (just knuckle whitening enough to take the wife's car when I highway travel for long distances was required) and bumpsteer that puts those rice burner drifters to shame.

Like an idiot, one by one I replaced nearly every suspension component. Some needed replacement, some I did for convenience because I was already under the jeep and some because I never had a firm understanding of how the suspension components worked together. Neither did the dealership for that matter who was convinced that my wobble / bumpsteer woes were a faulty steering box.