Help on a TJ build - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > TJ Wrangler Technical Forum > Help on a TJ build

Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed LineFS: Wrangler RGB Multicolor Fog Light LEDs: Awesome EffectSavvy Aluminum Gas Tank Skid

Unread 02-20-2012, 07:37 PM   #1
thedean06
2006 TJ Wrangler 

Help on a TJ build

I've got a 06 TJ X Manual, and i am looking to do some stuff to it but I'm fairly new at this so i thought i would open it up to some experienced insight.

Im looking at a 4 inch lift for it. Im wondering if there is anything that i need to worry about breaking down early, or things that i would need to replace right out of the gate to make it run right? I think im going with the rough country N2.0 lift. Im not planning on doing any hard wheeling, and Im pretty poor, so Im going for a cheaper kit.

I already have 31 inch tires on it so i dont think im going to bump up the tire size. (for right now at least)

the other thing i was wondering about is gearing.

Right now I think the X model has 3.07's in it (the tag on the diff is a little beat up). and with the tires i have on, any hill in 6th gear is dragging me down fast. so I was wondering what gearing i would have to jump to, to get 6th gear working right again. I think that carrier cut off is 3.55's. and i'd like to keep the carrier to save some money. but if i need a new carrier, i guess i need a new carrier. i suppose if i do get bigger tires im gonna need higher gears for those too.

Any help is much appreciated!

thedean06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-20-2012, 10:50 PM   #2
dcope17
2006 TJ Wrangler