full width. - JeepForum.com
Search  
Sign Up   Today's Posts
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > TJ Wrangler Technical Forum > full width.

Clayton Off Road WJ Long Arm Kits!Baseline 4x4 Lifetime Warranty 4340 Chromoly Axle Shaft KiClayton Off Road - JK Prototype Gas Tank Skid

Reply
Unread 07-09-2010, 10:27 PM   #1
remery829
Registered User
2007 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Across the pond
Posts: 569
full width.

sooooo i have an opportunity to pick up a 78 bronco for a ridiculously good price. has a 9 inch in the rear and a hp44 in the front. also has a strong running 400 mated to a c6. and he has a 351w that he'll throw in that ran when he took it out, but it needs a good tune up.

plans are to build the axles slowly until this winter and throw them in around the end of the year.

i'm wondering if it would be worth it to rebuild and put in the 351 and c6 also, or 400 and c6, or to just sell the motors and tranny, then scrap out the rest of the bronco

__________________
Ryan

[CENTER][B]vvvthis is what they don't tell you about LCGvvv[/B][/CENTER]
[QUOTE=]...I went with the lcg method but its never ending be because once you fix one thing something else breaks or needs upgrading...[/QUOTE]

[CENTER][B][U][COLOR="yellow"]SUPPORT OUR TROOPS[/COLOR][/U][/B][/CENTER]
[URL="http://www.cityprofile.com/forum/login.php?do=logout&logouthash=1283292679-9a7df2f9eebd07dc48f628e4fb5cbc1881910fd4"]City Profile[/URL]
remery829 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-09-2010, 11:26 PM   #2
bruteboy
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: british columbia ca
Posts: 476
the c6 trans from the 400M will not bolt up to a 351WINDSOR.
if it is a 351M,then it will.
the c6 is a 3 speed auto and will limit top speed.
it may have a np205 or a np203 t-case.

the 351/400M is large and heavy,as is the c6,and may not fit too well into the tj.
the wheel bolt pattern on the bronco diffs is 5on5.5 and will require new wheels.
bruteboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-09-2010, 11:33 PM   #3
remery829
Registered User
2007 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Across the pond
Posts: 569
it is a 351m. my mistake.

i know i will need new wheels, that isn't an issue

one of the main things i'm wondering about is how a low pinion 9 inch will do. i do have a longer wheel base which helps, and want to avoid having to use limiting straps, but will use them rather than paying for a hp 3rd member
__________________
Ryan

[CENTER][B]vvvthis is what they don't tell you about LCGvvv[/B][/CENTER]
[QUOTE=]...I went with the lcg method but its never ending be because once you fix one thing something else breaks or needs upgrading...[/QUOTE]

[CENTER][B][U][COLOR="yellow"]SUPPORT OUR TROOPS[/COLOR][/U][/B][/CENTER]
[URL="http://www.cityprofile.com/forum/login.php?do=logout&logouthash=1283292679-9a7df2f9eebd07dc48f628e4fb5cbc1881910fd4"]City Profile[/URL]
remery829 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-09-2010, 11:43 PM   #4
bddisi
Registered User
1997 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Cleveland TN.
Posts: 905
Doooooooo it. At least the axles...
__________________
[url]http://www.toms4x4superstore.com/[/url]
[url]http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f9/not-build-thread-828965/index35.html[/url]
bddisi is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-09-2010, 11:59 PM   #5
remery829
Registered User
2007 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Across the pond
Posts: 569
the axles will go in. oh they will. i'm figuring 39.5s will compliment them well, with chromo of coure
__________________
Ryan

[CENTER][B]vvvthis is what they don't tell you about LCGvvv[/B][/CENTER]
[QUOTE=]...I went with the lcg method but its never ending be because once you fix one thing something else breaks or needs upgrading...[/QUOTE]

[CENTER][B][U][COLOR="yellow"]SUPPORT OUR TROOPS[/COLOR][/U][/B][/CENTER]
[URL="http://www.cityprofile.com/forum/login.php?do=logout&logouthash=1283292679-9a7df2f9eebd07dc48f628e4fb5cbc1881910fd4"]City Profile[/URL]
remery829 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-10-2010, 12:25 AM   #6
goldswim5
Registered User
2005 LJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 1,379
Since the front of the bronco is coil sprung and has radius arms, the arm mounts are cast into the axle. You'll have to build your brackets around that somehow, but that's the only problem I see. If I wasn't trying to rebuild my 78 F150 I'd be doing this same thing. May still end up doing it.
__________________
2005 Wrangler Unlimited
6 speed, hard top, bone stock
goldswim5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-10-2010, 12:32 AM   #7
remery829
Registered User
2007 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Across the pond
Posts: 569
i was just going to cut them off and weld on new brackets....
__________________
Ryan

[CENTER][B]vvvthis is what they don't tell you about LCGvvv[/B][/CENTER]
[QUOTE=]...I went with the lcg method but its never ending be because once you fix one thing something else breaks or needs upgrading...[/QUOTE]

[CENTER][B][U][COLOR="yellow"]SUPPORT OUR TROOPS[/COLOR][/U][/B][/CENTER]
[URL="http://www.cityprofile.com/forum/login.php?do=logout&logouthash=1283292679-9a7df2f9eebd07dc48f628e4fb5cbc1881910fd4"]City Profile[/URL]
remery829 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-10-2010, 12:37 AM   #8
MilitaryJK4455
Web Wheeler
2010 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Ft. Detrick MD
Posts: 2,631
Why would you want that big of a motor on a 3 speed?
MilitaryJK4455 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-10-2010, 01:03 AM   #9
remery829
Registered User
2007 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Across the pond
Posts: 569
because picking up a different tranny would cost more than what i'm paying for it.

i'm leaning more towards keeping the 4.0l anyway. i only have 38k on it, and they're pretty much unstoppable engines
__________________
Ryan

[CENTER][B]vvvthis is what they don't tell you about LCGvvv[/B][/CENTER]
[QUOTE=]...I went with the lcg method but its never ending be because once you fix one thing something else breaks or needs upgrading...[/QUOTE]

[CENTER][B][U][COLOR="yellow"]SUPPORT OUR TROOPS[/COLOR][/U][/B][/CENTER]
[URL="http://www.cityprofile.com/forum/login.php?do=logout&logouthash=1283292679-9a7df2f9eebd07dc48f628e4fb5cbc1881910fd4"]City Profile[/URL]
remery829 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-10-2010, 01:07 AM   #10
MilitaryJK4455
Web Wheeler
2010 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Ft. Detrick MD
Posts: 2,631
Im not saying you in particular... Im asking for mechanical education... Why would you put a 3 speed tranny on a 400cu in motor?
MilitaryJK4455 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-10-2010, 02:18 AM   #11
asknight
Registered User
2006 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Southwest, Arkansas
Posts: 2,189
Quote:
Originally Posted by MilitaryJK4455 View Post
Why would you want that big of a motor on a 3 speed?
Why not? How fast do you plan on going in a off-road configured Jeep? The C-6 will get it well past 120mph if the driver is brave enough.
asknight is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-10-2010, 02:19 AM   #12
asknight
Registered User
2006 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Southwest, Arkansas
Posts: 2,189
Quote:
Originally Posted by bruteboy View Post
the c6 trans from the 400M will not bolt up to a 351WINDSOR.
if it is a 351M,then it will.
the c6 is a 3 speed auto and will limit top speed.
it may have a np205 or a np203 t-case.

the 351/400M is large and heavy,as is the c6,and may not fit too well into the tj.
the wheel bolt pattern on the bronco diffs is 5on5.5 and will require new wheels.
He's going to have an extremely short rear driveshaft with that C6.

I hope the pinion angle is good and not much articulation is hoped for.
asknight is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-10-2010, 02:20 AM   #13
asknight
Registered User
2006 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Southwest, Arkansas
Posts: 2,189
Quote:
Originally Posted by MilitaryJK4455 View Post
Im not saying you in particular... Im asking for mechanical education... Why would you put a 3 speed tranny on a 400cu in motor?
There's still a good many strip racers running the old GM Powerglide automatic. It's only a 2 speed.
asknight is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-10-2010, 02:34 AM   #14
MilitaryJK4455
Web Wheeler
2010 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Ft. Detrick MD
Posts: 2,631
Quote:
Originally Posted by asknight View Post
There's still a good many strip racers running the old GM Powerglide automatic. It's only a 2 speed.
Huh... Ok, I was just curious... That other guy said that it would limit top speed but hell 120mph is more of a top speed then I would want anyway.
MilitaryJK4455 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-10-2010, 11:11 PM   #15
goldswim5
Registered User
2005 LJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 1,379
Read around in this thread, it'll tell you all about the brackets on that axle. Specially the link unlimited04 posted.

http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f9/ford-hp-d44-995050/
__________________
2005 Wrangler Unlimited
6 speed, hard top, bone stock
goldswim5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
bronco , full width , tj , wrangler , swap , axle , motor , engine
Thread Tools


Suggested Threads





Jeep, Wrangler, Cherokee, Grand Cherokee, and other models are copyrighted and trademarked to Jeep/Chrysler Corporation. JeepForum.com is not in any way associated with Jeep or the Chrysler Corp.