Flat-towing a TJ behind an RV... - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > TJ Wrangler Technical Forum > Flat-towing a TJ behind an RV...

The NEW Revolution Gear and Axle from 4LowParts.comTHE NEW! VANCO DUAL MODE 15/16″ Big Brake Kit w/BlaEngo winches available at www.rockridge4wd.com! Free shipp

Unread 11-04-2009, 08:36 AM   #1
jeep-rambler
2006 TJ Wrangler 

Flat-towing a TJ behind an RV...

I'm a total novice to this, so please be kind...

I'd like to flat-tow my 2006 TJ (6-speed manual) behind an RV. A number of questions arise:

- do I use curb weight or GVW when determining whether an RV can tow the Jeep?

- what kind of towing bracket or frame do I need on both ends (RV and Jeep) to do this?

- how do I set everything up such that the brakes on the RV activate the brake lights on the Jeep?

- do both the transfer case and tranny have to be in N, or just the tranny?

- any other mechanical considerations, or steps I should to to prepare the Jeep for being flat-towed before each towing session?

Sorry if this is a lot of basic information, but I've not been able to find concise answers elsewhere...

Thanks in advance!

jeep-rambler is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-04-2009, 09:01 AM   #2
06rubicon
1998 ZJ 

Use curb wt for calculations.
Many options for hitches...use search function and check with jeep parts suppliers.
I used an extra set of bulbs inside the factory tail lights and new wires to the front of the Jeep...but you can purchase many different kits.

VERY IMPORTANT! TRANSFER CASE IN NEUTRAL AND MANUAL TRANSMISSION IN GEAR 2nd or 4th is recommended in the Manual.
06rubicon is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-04-2009, 09:18 AM   #3
Rjsimms
2005 TJ Wrangler