Factory Locker Switch Bypass? - JeepForum.com
Search  
Sign Up   Today's Posts
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > TJ Wrangler Technical Forum > Factory Locker Switch Bypass?

Currie RockJock Products!!*VOTE NOW Help Metalcloak Giveaway an XJ Suspension*Rough Country Lift Kits and Parts!

Reply
Unread 02-20-2011, 10:42 PM   #1
LiveT
Registered User
2003 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Oregon
Posts: 95
Factory Locker Switch Bypass?

Can the Factory Locker Switch be Bypassed and not used at all? I pretty sure my Switch is dead and dont feel like paying $60 for another one. Could I just wire up my own switches using the red and black wires coming out of the air compressors?

__________________
Jeeps dont break, they make opportunities for improvements
LiveT is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-21-2011, 05:04 AM   #2
unlblkrubi
Registered User
2005 LJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Huntsville, AL
Posts: 818
http://www.wanderingtrail.com/Mods/T...ker_Defeat.htm

I did this with the 2 switches for independent lockers in 4hi.
p1310358.jpg  
__________________
Black '05 LJ Rubicon; 4" higher, 35" MT/R's, Shrockworks bumper & sliders, Big Daddy Offroad rear bumper/ tire carrier, Or-Fab cage, RC disconnects and a winch

___________________________________________
unlblkrubi is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-21-2011, 08:10 AM   #3
Aalbury
Registered User
2006 LJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 305
Quote:
Originally Posted by unlblkrubi View Post
http://www.wanderingtrail.com/Mods/T...ker_Defeat.htm

I did this with the 2 switches for independent lockers in 4hi.
I like the independent switches idea, I think I'm going to go the route. When this is done it seems that the original axel lock switch has no function any more. would it be possible to still use that as the master power switch to activate the new selectable switches?
__________________
1995 Rio Grande -Stolen 5-10-10 gone but not forgotten.
2006 LJ Rubicon
1946 cj-2a
KD8NKV
Aalbury is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-21-2011, 08:22 AM   #4
Buck11
Registered User
2004 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: shilo, manitoba
Posts: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aalbury View Post
I like the independent switches idea, I think I'm going to go the route. When this is done it seems that the original axel lock switch has no function any more. would it be possible to still use that as the master power switch to activate the new selectable switches?
i did this to my rubi too best and smart mod for a rubi. when you bypass the switch , the swich turns into a wire holder . so if you think its burnt out i wouldnt matter the bypass switchs are now what ackivats it now in 2wd 4hi or 4lo
Buck11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-21-2011, 03:51 PM   #5
BlueFlame
Registered User
2003 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Oregon USA
Posts: 8,403
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aalbury View Post
...would it be possible to still use that as the master power switch to activate the new selectable switches?
No.
and... yes.
It's a momenatary switch, so it won't work for simply switching something on and off.
Unless - google "latching relay"
BlueFlame is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-21-2011, 04:48 PM   #6
danielbuck
Registered User
2006 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Westchester, CA
Posts: 3,989
the factory switch has alot of wires, when you say it's "dead" I'm not sure how easy it would be to reproduce that if something is not working propery. There may be relays somewhere else that are not working properly? If something in there isn't working properly, the simpler 'bypass' mods may not work? I'm not sure. The mod (or at least the one I did) I believe still keeps some of the safety features, like you can't lock them at higher speeds, and they automatically unlock at higher speeds (40mph or something?) I don't know for sure that these safety things are still in place with the way I did it, I've never tried locking them at higher speeds. So if the relays (or whatever) help control those safety features, the bypass may not work if something is malfunctioning on yours.

However, if you are considering doing the bypass mod, I would just do it! It's very easy (even for someone like me who doesn't know mucha bout wiring) and was very quick, and quite nice to have! I believe it's pin 6 and 7 go to one of each switch, and then ground each switch (you can do that to pin 1) that's what I did.

If you are thinking of going straight to the pumps with the wires, it might be a problem if the pumps themselves don't automatically shut off? If the pumps do automatically shut off on their own (with no external controller or something!?), then I would think it should probably be pretty easy to just wire up switches straight to the pumps. I don't know which is the case.
__________________
Daniel Buck - [URL="http://www.danielbuck.net"]www.DanielBuck.net[/URL] - [URL="http://www.dnsfail.com"]www.DNSFAIL.com[/URL]
danielbuck is online now   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-21-2011, 09:55 PM   #7
LiveT
Registered User
2003 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Oregon
Posts: 95
Thanks guys. I just finished putting the air pumps under the brake booster. Extended the wires and they still work fine. It only seems that the lockers wont work when im off road and need them, hopefully the 1,6,7 bypass will fix that problem.
__________________
Jeeps dont break, they make opportunities for improvements
LiveT is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
bypass , locker , switch
Thread Tools


Suggested Threads





Jeep, Wrangler, Cherokee, Grand Cherokee, and other models are copyrighted and trademarked to Jeep/Chrysler Corporation. JeepForum.com is not in any way associated with Jeep or the Chrysler Corp.